3-10 August 2016
Chicago IL USA
US/Central timezone
There is a live webcast for this event.

Nanotube Channeling Acceleration – TeV/m on Chip

Aug 6, 2016, 6:00 PM
Riverwalk A/B

Riverwalk A/B

Poster Accelerator: Physics, Performance, R&D and Future Accelerator Facilities Poster Session


YOUNG-MIN SHIN (Northern Illinois University)


Crystals behave like a non-equilibrium medium (e.g. plasma), but at a relatively low temperature, if heated by a high-power driving source. The warm dense matter contains many more ions (n0 ~ 10^19 – 10^23 cm^-3) available for plasma acceleration than gaseous plasmas, and can possibly support electric fields of up to 30 TV/m of plasma oscillation [1 - 4]. Atomic lattice spaces in solid crystals are known to consist of 10 – 100 V/Å potential barriers capable of guiding and collimating high energy particles with continuously focused acceleration/deceleration by the exceptionally high electromagnetic fields. Nanostructured crystals (e.g. carbon nanotube) with dimensional flexibilities can accept a few orders of magnitude larger phase-space volume of channeled particles than natural crystals. Our PIC simulation results [5, 6] obtained from two plasma acceleration codes, VORPAL and EPOCH, indicate that in the linear regime (nb ≤ n0) the beam-driven and laser-driven electrons channeled in a 100 micrometer long effective nanotube gain 10 MeV (G = 1 – 10 TeV/m). Experimental tests, including slit-mask beam modulation and pump-probe electron diffraction, are designed in Fermilab and NIU to identify a wakefield effect in a photo-excited crystal. Acknowledgement This work was supported by the DOE contract No.DEAC02-07CH11359 to the Fermi Research Alliance LLC. We also thank the FAST Department team for the helpful discussions and technical support. References [1] T. Tajima, and J. M. Dawson, Phys. Rev. Lett. 43(4), 267 (1979) [2] I. Y. Dodin and N. J. Fisch, Phys. Plasmas 15, 103105 (2008) [3] L. B. Fletcher, et. al., Nature Photonics 9, 274 (2015) [4] T. Tajima, Eur. Phys. J. 223, 1037 (2014) [5] Y. M. Shin, Appl. Phys. Lett. 105, 114106 (2014) [6] Y. M. Shin, Dean A. Still, and Vladimir Shiltsev, Physics of Plasmas 20, 123106 (2013)

Primary author

YOUNG-MIN SHIN (Northern Illinois University)


Dr Alex Lumpkin (Fermilab) Mr Deano Farinella (University of California -Irvine) Prof. Peter Taborek (University of California - Irvine) Dr Randy Thurman-Keup (Fermilab) Prof. Toshiki Tajima (University of California - Irvine) Dr Vladimir Shiltsev (Fermilab) Prof. Xiaomei Zhang (Shanghai Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.