





Introduction and C11 matters



XXVII International Symposium on Lepton Photon Interactions at High Energies

Fuster, IFIC-Valencia

LP2015, 17-22 August, Ljubljana, Slovenia

C11 members 2011-2014

- Chair: Hiroaki Aihara, JAPAN
- Vice Chair: Francois Le Diberder, FRANCE
- Secretary: Heidi Schellman USA
- Sergio Ferraz Novaes, BRAZIL
- Robert Mann, CANADA
- Xiaoyan Shen, CHINA
- Jiří Hořejší, CZECH REPUBLIC

- Thomas Mueller, GERMANY
- Umberto Dosselli, ITALY
- Vladamir Kekelidze, RUSSIA
- Kok Khoo Phua, SINGAPORE
- Juan Fuster, SPAIN
- Per Olof Hulth, SWEDEN
- Mark Lancaster, UK

 Associate member: Soo-Bong Kim, KOREA

C11 members since 2015

- Chair: Juan Fuster, SPAIN
- Vice Chair: Heidi Schellman USA
- Secretary:
 Soo-Bong Kim, KOREA
- Raymond Volkas, AUSTRALIA
- Sergio Ferraz Novaes, BRAZIL
- Xiaoyan Shen, CHINA
- Martin Schnabl, CZECH REPUBLIC

- Dezső Horváth, HUNGARY
- Amol Dighe, INDIA
- Mihoko Nojiri, JAPAN
- Vladamir Kekelidze, RUSSIA
- Johan Rathsman, SWEDEN
- Florencia Canelli, SWITZERLAND
- Mark Lancaster, UK

- Thanks to all members who have left for their valuable support and contributions
- Welcome to the new members

C11 purpose

Main activity is supervision of international conferences

but also:

Supervise the International Committee for Future Accelerators (ICFA)

Reports on Authorship (2005) and Recognition in Large Collaborations (2008)

Young Scientist Prize at ICHEP

Agenda

16:00	0 - Introduction and IUPAP-C11 matters	Juan FUSTER VERDÚ
	4 - ICFA Report	Joachim MNICH
	2 - Lepton Photon 2015 (August 17-22, Ljubljana)	Marko MIKUZ et al.
	12 - ICHEP 2016 (Chicago, Aug. 3-10)	Young-Kee KIM
2:00	3 - Neutrino 2016 (South Kensington, Jul. 4-9)	Kenneth Richard LONG
	5 - Baldin Seminar 2016 (Dubna, Sep. 19-24)	V.D. k 🚹 🖶)ZE
	7 - TIPP 2017 (Beijing)	Xiaoyan SHEN
	8 - Lepton Photon 2017 (Guangzhou)	Prof. Wei WANG
	9 - ICHEP 2018 (Seoul)	Suyong CHO
3:00	10 - Lepton Photon 2019 - Toronto Proposal	William TRISCHUK
	11 - ICHEP 2020 - Prague Proposal	Zdenek DOLEZAL
	16 - ICHEP 2020 - Edinburgh Proposal	Franz MUHEIM
0:00	15 - Other proposals	
	13 - Organization of 2016 Young Scientist prize	Heidi SCHELLMAN
	14 - C11 closed session	
	Room Urska 4, Ljubljana Exhibition and Conference Centre	19:27 - 19:57

20:00

Closed Agenda

Discussion issues:

- recommendations for IUPAP for sponsorship in 2016:
 - ICHEP 2016
 - Neutrino
 - Baldin Seminar
- Communication with other Commissions (associate ?, observers ?..)
 - C4 Karl-Heinz Kampert, to be approved (observer..)
 - C12 Eugenio Nappi, to be approved (associate..)
 - C19 Thanu Padmanabhan (to be checked)
 - Associates from ECFA, ACFA, America's community, etc.. ?
- New accelerator Science working group
- Future of Lepton Photon conference, new ideas to increase participation ?

At its General Assembly IUPAP considered a proposal to establish a Commission on Accelerator Science, and adopted a resolution establishing an advisory working group on Accelerator Science, convened by Roy Rubinstein, the Secretary of our Working Group 1, the International Committee for Future Accelerators.

Roy's report, which I attach for your convenience was considered by the Executive Council at its meeting on 26th April. The Council decided that the Chairs of C10: the Commission on the Structure and Dynamics of Condensed Matter, C11: the Commission on Particles and Fields, C12: the Commission on Nuclear Physics, C16: the Commission on Plasma Physics, AC4: the International Commission on Medical Physics, WG1: the International Committee for Future Accelerators, WG9: International Cooperation in Nuclear Physics , WG7: the International Committee on Ultrahigh Intensity Lasers, the European Committee for Future Accelerators, the Asian Committee for Future Accelerators, and the American Physical Society Division of Physics of Beams be asked to nominate TWO people as possible members of the Interim Working Group.

Council will establish the membership of the Interim Working Group on the basis of these nominations. It is anticipated that the Interim Working Group will have approximately 12 members. I am therefore writing to ask each of you to make two nominations for the membership of the Interim Working Group. The nominations should contain a brief statement about the experience of the nominee, and what skills they will bring to the working group. The Interim Working Group on Accelerator Science is to propose a Charge for the Working Group on Accelerator Science, and to propose its initial membership.

The charge should take into account the fact that there the field of Accelerator Science underpins the many applications of accelerators in physics, medicine and other fields. The IUPAP WG1: the International Committee for Future Accelerators (ICFA) has sub-goups with a focus on some aspects of accelerator physics it does have an emphasis on accelerators for frontier high energy physics. The new Working Group on Accelerator Science will obviously have connections with ICFA and its sub-groups and co-operation should be encouraged to avoid overlap.

The original proposal to the GA was to establish a new Commission on Accelerator Physics. IUPAP has a tradition of growing new Commissions out of Working Groups, and one aspect of the Charge to the Working Group on Accelerator Science should be to advise IUPAP on the future representation of accelerator science in the IUPAP structure.

Nominations:

• Stuart Henderson (Fermilab) and Nick Walker (DESY).