August 27, 2017 to September 1, 2017
RAI Congress Center, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

Analytical Method to Evaluate the Manufacturing Tolerance and the Ferromagnetic Shim-ability of a 400-MHz HTS NMR Magnet.

Aug 29, 2017, 1:15 PM
1h 45m
Postera Area

Postera Area

Poster Presentation of 1h45m D1 - Magnets for NMR Tue-Af-Po2.05


Mr Junseong Kim (Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Yonsei University)


This paper describes an analytical method to predict undesirable magnetic field inhomogeneity caused by manufacturing errors and evaluation of the permissible manufacturing tolerance for a high temperature superconductor (HTS) NMR magnet. Recently, HTS magnets have been actively studied for high-field nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) (>1 GHz) magnet worldwide. Most high-field HTS magnet wound with REBCO tapes are composed of stacks of single or double pancake coils with hundreds of turns per each pancake. Even following ideally homogeneous magnet design, the magnetic field in a certain region of interest (ROI) of an initially manufactured REBCO NMR magnet must be inhomogeneous because of machining tolerance errors, the REBCO conductor’s dimensional variation of thickness and width, and human errors during winding and assembling. Also, if the manufacturing-error-induced inhomogeneity exceeds the maximum shim strength of ferromagnetic shim and/or shim coils, the magnet cannot be used for an NMR. In this paper, we present 1) a draft design of 400-MHz/54-mm REBCO NMR magnet; 2) a stochastic modeling and statistical analysis of the mangetic field homogeneity affected by manufacturing errors and 3) evaluation of the maximum manufacturing tolerance under the limit of ferromagnetic shim strength.

Submitters Country Republic of Korea

Primary authors

Mr Junseong Kim (Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Yonsei University) Dr Dongkeun Park (MIT) Mr Seunghyun Song (Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Yonsei University) Mr Hongseok Lee (Korea National University of Transportation) Mr Young-Gyun Kim (Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Korea University, Seoul, Korea) Prof. Haigun Lee (Korea University) Prof. Tae Kuk Ko (Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Yonsei University)

Presentation materials