Feb 22 – 24, 2016
Europe/Zurich timezone

Investigation on the radiation resistance of HV-CMOS and pin diodes using a Transient Current Technique based on the Two-Photon-Absortion Process

Feb 23, 2016, 2:20 PM
Amphitheatre de recherche George Charpak (LPNHE)

Amphitheatre de recherche George Charpak


4 Place Jussieu 75005 - Paris FRANCE


Ivan Vila Alvarez (Universidad de Cantabria (ES))


Transient Current Techniques (TCT) based on laser-induced photo-currents produced by Single Photon Absorption (SPA) processes have been extensively used during the last two decades as a powerful tool to study many of the properties relevant to operation of semiconductor detectors. Very recently, an innovative Transient Current Technique was introduced where the free charge carriers are created in a Two-Photon-Absorption (TPA) process induced by a focused femto-second laser pulse with a wavelength of 1300nm. The fact that in a TPA process the absorption of the light depends on the square of the intensity of the light beam used for the current generation allows a localized TPA-induced electron-hole pair creation in a micrometric scale voxel centered on the laser waist. As a consequence, this new technique opens the possibility to carry out a 3D mapping of the sensor’s space-charge properties with micrometric resolution. Due to its intrinsic spatial resolution, the TPA-TCT technique should be a very appropriate choice for the characterization of the alterations of the sensor’s active (charge collecting) volume induced by radiation damage and especially for the case of partially depleted sensors as it is the case of the carrier collecting n-well implemented in HV-CMOS sensors.

Primary author

Ivan Vila Alvarez (Universidad de Cantabria (ES))


David Moya Martin (Universidad de Cantabria (ES)) Francisco Rogelio Palomo Pinto (Universidad de Cantabria (ES)) Gregor Kramberger (Jozef Stefan Institute (SI)) Javier Gonzalez Sanchez (Universidad de Cantabria (ES)) Marcos Fernandez Garcia (Universidad de Cantabria (ES)) Michael Moll (CERN) Richard Jaramillo (IFCA) Salvador Hidalgo Villena (Instituto de Microelectronica de Barcelona (ES))

Presentation materials