Theatre of Dreams: Beyond the LHCb Phase 1 Upgrade

Bragg Lecture Theatre (Schuster Laboratory, University of Manchester)

Bragg Lecture Theatre

Schuster Laboratory, University of Manchester

Brunswick Street, Manchester, UK
Chris Parkes (University of Manchester (GB)) , Frederic Teubert (CERN)

The LHCb upgrade is under construction and will be installed during LHC Long shutdown 2 (LS2), starting operation in 2021. The remit of this meeting is to discuss the longer term future of the experiment beyond the phase I upgrade. This will include the physics potential of the experiment and the further developments of the detector that could drive these.

LHC LS3 will be an LHC shutdown of up to three years duration in the mid-2020s. ATLAS and CMS plan to install their phase II upgrades at this time. The meeting will discuss the potential to profit from this period to further enhance the physics potential of the LHCb upgrade with modest changes to the detector configuration.

LHC LS4 will be in the late 2020s. By the time of this shutdown the currently anticipated LHCb upgrade programme (approx. 10 years of operation) would likely be coming towards its end. First thoughts on the future physics directions that could be taken by the collaboration will be discussed and alternative detector configurations considered. The discussion will be centred on operation of an experiment with a further order of magnitude increase in the instantaneous luminosity beyond that of the LHCb upgrade.

  • Adriano Lai
  • Alessandro Cardini
  • Andreas Schopper
  • Andrew McNab
  • Antonis Papanestis
  • Biplab Dey
  • Blake Dean Leverington
  • Bostjan Golob
  • Carmelo D'Ambrosio
  • Chris Parkes
  • Christopher Mark Burr
  • Concezio Bozzi
  • Daniel Johnson
  • David Hutchcroft
  • Dominik Dannheim
  • Eleonora Luppi
  • Eric Thomas
  • Eugeni Graugés Pous
  • Fabrizio Palla
  • Federico Betti
  • Fedor Ratnikov
  • Fergus Wilson
  • Francesco Dettori
  • Franz Muheim
  • Frederic Machefert
  • Frederic Teubert
  • Gino Isidori
  • Giovanni Passaleva
  • Giovanni Punzi
  • Gloria Corti
  • Gregory Max Ciezarek
  • Greig Cowan
  • Guy Wilkinson
  • Igor Babuschkin
  • Jean-Francois Marchand
  • Jolanta Brodzicka
  • Jon Harrison
  • Jonas Rademacker
  • Lars Eklund
  • Luca Silvestrini
  • Luca Tomassetti
  • Lucie Linssen
  • Maarten Van Dijk
  • Marc Olivier Bettler
  • Marco Gersabeck
  • Mark Richard James Williams
  • Mark Whitehead
  • Massimiliano Fiorini
  • Maurizio Martinelli
  • Mitesh Patel
  • Monica Pepe-Altarelli
  • Neville Harnew
  • Nicola Neri
  • Nicola Serra
  • Niels Tuning
  • Nigel Watson
  • Niko Neufeld
  • Olivier Leroy
  • Pablo Rodriguez Perez
  • Patrizia De Simone
  • Paula Collins
  • Pete Clarke
  • Riccardo De Maria
  • Robert Appleby
  • Roberto Calabrese
  • Sajan Easo
  • Shanzhen Chen
  • Sheldon Stone
  • Silvia Borghi
  • Sneha Sirirshkumar Malde
  • Stefano De Capua
  • Stephane T'Jampens
  • Timothy Gershon
  • Umberto Marconi
  • Vincent Tisserand
  • Vincenzo Vagnoni
  • Vladimir Gligorov
  • Wander Baldini