9-15 June 2018
Woodlands Conference Center
America/New_York timezone
**** See you at Real Time 2020 ****

Development of next generation LLRF control system for J-PARC rapid cycling synchrotron

12 Jun 2018, 11:30
Woodlands Conference Center

Woodlands Conference Center

159 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185


Dr Fumihiko Tamura (Japan Atomic Energy Agency (JP))


The low level rf (LLRF) control system for the rapid cycling synchrotron of the
Japan Proton Accelerator Research Complex (J-PARC) started its operation in
2007. The key functions of the LLRF control system are the dual harmonic auto
voltage control, which generates superposed voltages of the fundamental
accelerating harmonic and the second harmonic in a single wideband magnetic
alloy (MA) cavity, and the multiharmonic rf feedforward to compensate the beam
loading in the MA cavity caused by high intensity beams. These functions are
necessary to accelerate high intensity proton beams. The system has been working
well without major problems for more than ten years. However, the old FPGAs
(Xilinx Vertex-II pro etc.) are discontinued and not supported by the current
development environment. It will be difficult to maintain the system in near
future. Thus, we are planning to replace the existing VME-based LLRF control
system with a new MicroTCA.4 based system. The system controls twelve cavities
independently and calculates vector sum of the cavity voltages in real time for
phase feedback.. Signal and data transfer between the modules is a key to
realize the functions. In the existing system, the transfer is implemented not
only the backplane but also serial link via cables between the VME modules. It
is much more simplified in the new system thanks to the high speed communication
capability of the MTCA.4 backplane. In this presentation, we present the
configuration of the system under development, the implemented functions, and
preliminary test results.

Institute JPARC
Speaker Fumihiko Tamura
Minioral Yes
Description system
Country Japan

Primary authors

Dr Fumihiko Tamura (Japan Atomic Energy Agency (JP)) Dr Yasuyuki Sugiyama (KEK) Prof. Masahito Yoshii (KEK) Mr Masatsugu Ryoshi (Mitsubishi Electric TOKKI Systems Corporation)

Presentation Materials