Aug 21 – 25, 2017
University of Washington, Seattle
US/Pacific timezone

GeantV apha-release preview

Aug 24, 2017, 2:00 PM
Auditorium (Alder Hall)


Alder Hall

Oral Track 1: Computing Technology for Physics Research Track 1: Computing Technology for Physics Research


Andrei Gheata (CERN)


GeantV went through a thorough community discussion in the fall 2016 reviewing the project's status and strategy for sharing the R&D benefits with the LHC experiments and with the HEP simulation community in general. Following up to this discussion GeantV has engaged onto an ambitious 2-year road-path aiming to deliver a beta version that has most of the performance features of the final product, partially integrated with some of the experiment's frameworks.

The initial GeantV prototype has been re-cast into a vector-aware concurrent framework able to deliver high-density floating point computation for most of the performance-critical components such as propagation in field and physics models. Electromagnetic physics models were adapted for the specific GeantV requirements, aiming for the full demonstration of shower physics performance in the alpha release this fall. We have revisited and formalized GeantV user interfaces and helper protocols, allowing to connect to user code and provide recipes to access efficiently MC truth and generate user data in a concurrent environment.

The presentation will give a preview of the features available in the alpha release, including a new R&D for ML-driven fast simulation engine, up to date performance figures compared to Geant4 and the status of the co-processor integration.

Primary authors

Guilherme Amadio (CERN) Ananya (IIT- Indian Institute of Technology (IN)) John Apostolakis (CERN) Marilena Bandieramonte (CERN) Dr Abhijit Bhattacharyya (Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (IN)) Rene Brun (CERN) Philippe Canal (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)) Federico Carminati (CERN) Gabriele Cosmo (CERN) Laurent Duhem Victor Daniel Elvira (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)) Andrei Gheata (CERN) Mihaela Gheata (Institute of Space Science (RO)) Ilias Goulas (CERN) Soon Yung Jun (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)) Jose Guilherme Lima (FermiLab (US)) Dr Farah Hariri (CERN) Mihaly Novak (CERN) Witold Pokorski (CERN) Alberto Ribon (CERN) Raman Sehgal Oksana Shadura (National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (UA)) Dr Sofia Vallecorsa (Gangneung-Wonju National University (KR)) Sandro Christian Wenzel (CERN)

Presentation materials

Peer reviewing