Jul 10 – 17, 2019
Europe/Brussels timezone

Status of the TORCH time-of-flight detector

Jul 11, 2019, 10:45 AM
Campus Ledeganck - Aud. 4 (Ghent)

Campus Ledeganck - Aud. 4


Parallel talk Detector R&D and Data Handling Detector R&D and Data Handling


Tom Hadavizadeh (University of Oxford (GB))


TORCH is a novel time-of-flight detector, designed to provide $\pi$/K particle identification up to 10 GeV/$c$ momentum over a 10 m flight path. Based on the DIRC principle, Cherenkov photons are produced in a quartz plate of 10 mm thickness, where they propagate to the periphery of the plate by total-internal reflection. There the photons are focused onto an array of micro-channel plate photomultipliers (MCP-PMTs) which measure their arrival times and spatial positions. A time resolution of 70 ps per detected Cherenkov photon is expected, which results in a time-of-flight resolution of 15 ps, given typically 30 detected photons per track. To demonstrate the principle, a half-scale ($660\times1250\times10$ mm$^3$) TORCH prototype module has been tested in a 5 GeV/$c$ mixed proton-pion beam at the CERN PS. Customised $53\times53$ mm$^2$ MCP-PMTs of effective granularity $128\times8$ pixels have been employed, which have been developed in collaboration with an industrial partner. The single-photon timing performance and photon yields have been measured and are close to specification, demonstrating the TORCH concept. For a future application, a full-scale TORCH detector has been proposed for the LHCb Phase II Upgrade, which comprises 18 modules with 198 MCP-PMTs. Results will be reported on the simulated performance of the detector for high luminosity LHCb running in terms of $\pi$/K/p discrimination.

Primary authors

Tom Hadavizadeh (University of Oxford (GB)) Srishti Bhasin (University of Bristol (GB)) Thomas Blake (University of Warwick) Prof. Nick Brook (University of Bath) Thomas Conneely (Photek LTD) David Cussans (University of Bristol (GB)) Roger Forty (CERN) Christoph Frei (CERN) Emmy Pauline Maria Gabriel (The University of Edinburgh (GB)) Rui Gao (University of Oxford (GB)) Timothy Gershon (University of Warwick (GB)) Thierry Gys (CERN) Thomas Henry Hancock (University of Oxford (GB)) Neville Harnew (University of Oxford (GB)) Michal Kreps (University of Warwick (GB)) James Milnes (Photek Ltd) Didier Piedigrossi (CERN) Jonas Rademacker (University of Bristol (GB)) Maarten Van Dijk (CERN)

Presentation materials