Jul 9 – 13, 2018
Sofia, Bulgaria
Europe/Sofia timezone

EOSC-hub AAI: A federated authentication and authorisation infrastructure for international scientific collaboration at scale

Jul 10, 2018, 3:45 PM
Hall 7 (National Palace of Culture)

Hall 7

National Palace of Culture

presentation Track 3 – Distributed computing T3 - Distributed computing


Mr Nicolas Liampotis (Greek Research and Technology Network - GRNET)


The European Open Science Cloud (EOSC) aims to enable trusted access to services and the re-use of shared scientific data across disciplinary, social and geographical borders. The EOSC-hub will realise the EOSC infrastructure as an ecosystem of research e-Infrastructures leveraging existing national and European investments in digital research infrastructures. EGI Check-in and EUDAT B2ACCESS are the initial basis of an integrated EOSC-hub AAI that will allow the use of federated identities for accessing services. The adoption of standards and open technologies, including SAML 2.0, OpenID Connect, and OAuth 2.0, facilitates integration with web-based services. Options to support non-web services, which traditionally relied on X509 certificates, are based around the concept of online authorities with attached credential stores, such as RCauth.eu with a tightly-coupled MyProxy server. Such techniques allow science gateways to obtain credentials on behalf of the end-user that can be used to directly authenticate to services. Another user-centric approach considers certificate proxies as opaque tokens that can be obtained from a credential store from the command-line using SSH authentication. The deployed RCauth.eu and MasterPortal service from AARC features both these capabilities and has been shown to work for the production EGI and WLCG environments.

The presentation will provide an overview of the EOSC-hub AAI architecture and the various integration workflows in support of today’s federated access requirements, with an eye to the non-web use cases.

Primary authors

David Groep (Nikhef National institute for subatomic physics (NL)) Mr Nicolas Liampotis (Greek Research and Technology Network - GRNET) Paul Millar (DESY) Dr Mischa Sallé (FOM Nikhef) Hannah Short (CERN)

Presentation materials