LASNPA & WONP-NURT 2017



Contribution ID: 203

Type: Poster

Calculation of kinetic parameters of the RECH-1 research nuclear reactor using MCNP and Serpent 2

Wednesday, 25 October 2017 14:00 (15 minutes)

In this work we calculated two kinetic parameters of the RECH-1 research nuclear reactor: the effective delayed neutrons fraction, β_{eff} , and the mean neutron generation time Λ using the Monte Carlo codes MCNP6 [1] and Serpent 2 [2] and the neutron cross section library ENDFV.VII.1.

To calculate β_{eff} we used the method proposed by Meulekamp and van der Marck[3]. In this method the effective delayed neutron fraction is estimated as

 $\beta_{eff} \sim 1 - \frac{k_p}{k},$

where k_p is the prompt effective neutron multiplication factor and k is the total effective neutron multiplication factor. To calculate the effective neutron generation time we used the pulsed neutron source method[4]. In this technique a burst of neutrons is injected in a subcritical system and then the decay of the neutron population is observed as a function of time. After the system thermalization and decay of higher flux modes, the fundamental-mode decay constant, α_0 can be measured using the point kinetic approximation. The relation between α_0 and the reactivity, ρ , is obtained from the point kinetics equations:

$$\alpha_0 = \frac{\rho - \beta_{eff}}{\Lambda}$$

These calculations will be contrasted with reactor operation experimental campaign results during next year.

- 1. T. Goorley, et al., Initial MCNP6 Release Overview, Nuclear Technology, 180 (2012), 298-315.
- 2. Leppanen, J., et al., The Serpent Monte Carlo code: Status, development and applications in 2013. Ann. Nucl. Energy, 82 (2015) 142-150.
- 3. Meulekamp, R.K., van der Marck, S.C., Calculating the effective delayed neutron fraction with Monte Carlo. Nucl. Sci. Eng. 152 (2006), 142–148.
- 4. Simmons, B.E., King, J.S., A pulsed neutron technique for reactivity determination. Nuclear Science and Engineering 3 (1958), 595–608.

Primary authors: ROMERO BARRIENTOS, Jaime Alfonso (CCHEN Comision Chilena de Energia Nuclear, Chile.); Dr MOLINA PALACIOS, Francisco (CCHEN Comision Chilena de Energia Nuclear, Chile.); AGUILERA, Pablo (Universidad de Chile, Chile.); Dr ARELLANO SEPULVEDA, Hugo (Universidad de Chile, Chile.)

Presenter: ROMERO BARRIENTOS, Jaime Alfonso (CCHEN Comision Chilena de Energia Nuclear, Chile.)

Session Classification: Poster Session - NINST

Track Classification: Nuclear Instrumentation and Facilities