7-17 July 2018
Cape Town
Africa/Johannesburg timezone

Women in Engineering Invited Speakers

Zinhle Buthelezi

Dr Zinhle Buthelezi holds a PhD degree in Experimental Nuclear Physics from the University of Stellenbosch. She is a senior researcher scientist at the department of Subatomic Physics, iThemba LABS, South Africa.

Her research interest is in Experimental High Energy Particle and Nuclear Physics and she is the coordinator of the South Africa-ALICE team at iThemba LABS.. She is also deputy team leader of the SA-ALICE Collaboration and scientific secretary of the South Africa - CERN Programme.


Diane Grayson

Diane Grayson holds a PhD in Physics from the University of Washington and an honorary doctorate in science teacher education from Umeå University in Sweden. She is passionate about helping students succeed through taking a scholarly approach to teaching and curriculum design that promotes effective student learning. She has served on the Council of the South African Institute of Physics, the International Commission on Physics Education and the STEM Committee of the Academy of Science of South Africa. She has worked as an academic and in management at the University of KwaZulu Natal, UNISA, University of Pretoria and the Mathematics, Science and Technology Education College, and also ran her own consultancy, Andromeda Science Education. From 2012-2017 she was a Director at the Council on Higher Education, where she was responsible for the system-wide Quality Enhancement Project, designed to promote student success at all higher education institutions. In 2018 she joined the University of the Witwatersrand as Senior Director: Academic Affairs.


Joyce Mwangama 

Joyce received her BSc degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering and MSc in Electrical Engineering from the University of Cape Town (South Africa) in 2008 and 2011 respectively. In 2012 she began her study towards a PhD in the Centre for Broadband Networks and joined the Department of Electrical Engineering at the University of Cape Town as a lecturer in 2015. Joyce has published her research work in a number of peer-reviewed publications. Her research work also contributed to the Universities for Future Internet and the Testbeds for Reliable Smart City Machine-to-Machine Communications international research collaboration projects. Joyce received multiple research awards including the Google Anita Borg Scholarship and the L’Oréal-UNESCO Sub-Saharan Women in Science Fellowship.

Joyce is currently a member of the IEEE MGA Women in Engineering Committee (2015-2017). She has previously served as the IEEE Region 8 Women in Engineering Coordinator (2013-2014), IEEE South Africa Section Students Activities Coordinator (2011-2013), IEEE South Africa Section Young Professionals Chairperson (2011-2013) and IEEE Student Branch Chairperson University of Cape Town (2009-2010).