10-16 June 2018
Dalhousie University
America/Halifax timezone
Welcome to the 2018 CAP Congress Program website! / Bienvenue au siteweb du programme du Congrès de l'ACP 2018!

Simultaneous Adiabatic Rapid Passage in Multiple Quantum Dots (G)

11 Jun 2018, 12:15
SUB 224 (cap.50) (Dalhousie University)

SUB 224 (cap.50)

Dalhousie University

Oral (Graduate Student) / Orale (Étudiant(e) du 2e ou 3e cycle) Condensed Matter and Materials Physics / Physique de la matière condensée et matériaux (DCMMP-DPMCM) M1-1 Ultrafast EM waves I: Materials Science (DAMOPC/DCMMP) | Ondes EM ultrarapides I: Sciences des matériaux (DPAMPC/DPMCM)


Mr Ajan Ramachandran (Dalhousie University)


The initialization and control of the quantum states of excitons in semiconductor quantum dots (QDs) may be achieved using coherent optical pulses, making these systems of interest for solid state approaches to quantum simulators [1] and single photon sources [2]. Quantum state control via adiabatic rapid passage (ARP), which is insensitive to variations in the QD parameters (dipole moment, transition energy) provides an effective strategy for achieving robust quantum state inversion, and has been the subject of intensive study in recent years [3,4]. Robust state inversion is essential for the development of triggered single and entangled photon sources [2,5] and all optical switches utilizing quantum dot states [6]. The extension of ARP to the control of ensembles of QDs would be beneficial for parallel state initialization [7], and may enable the formation of a Bose-Einstein condensate in a quantum dot ensemble [8]. Building on previous demonstrations of ARP in a single quantum dot using subpicosecond pulses [9] and simultaneous deterministic control of excitons in multiple quantum dots [10,11], we demonstrate simultaneous adiabatic rapid passage in multiple quantum dots and evaluate the inversion efficiency of ARP for a range of control pulse parameters.

[1] Ramsay, Semicond. Sci. Technol. 25 (2010) 103001
[2] Michler et al Science, 290(5500):2282–2285, 2000.
[3] Simon et al Phys.Rev.Lett. 106, 166801 (2011).
[4] Kaldewey et al Phys.Rev B 95, 161302(R) (2017).
[5] Dousse et al Nature,466(7303):217–220, Jul 2010.
[6] Schuh et al Applied Physics Letters,99(1):011105, 2011.
[7] Schmidgall et al Physical Review B, 81(19):1–5, May 2010.
[8] Eastham et al Phys. Rev. B 79, 165303 (2009).
[9] Mathew et al, PRB 90, 035316 (2014).
[10] Gamouras et al Nano Lett., 2013, 13 (10), pp 4666–4670.
[11] Mathew et al Phys.Rev B 92, 155306 (2015).

Primary author

Mr Ajan Ramachandran (Dalhousie University)


Dr Reuble Mathew (Dalhousie University) Allister Mason (Dalhousie University) Sabine Freisem (University of Central Florida) Dennis Deppe (University of Central Florida) Prof. Kimberley Hall (Dalhousie University)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.