The ESO Adaptive Optics Facility: how to build an adaptive telescope and VLT from start to finish

6-2-024 - BE Auditorium Meyrin (CERN) (CERN)

6-2-024 - BE Auditorium Meyrin (CERN)


Eva Barbara Holzer (CERN)

The ESO Adaptive Optics Facility: how to build an adaptive telescope

Speaker: Paolo La Penna (European Southern Observatory)

The AOF (Adaptive Optics Facility) consists of the transformation of one of the VLT into an adaptive telescope, by replacing the rigid secondary mirror with a Deformable Mirror and providing the instrumentation to drive and control it. The whole activity, that required over 10 years of design, production, testing and installation, is now close to its completion at Paranal.

In this talk we shortly describe the intervention on the telescope and the results obtained so far.


VLT from start to finish

Speaker: Marco Quattri (European Southern Observatory)

The Very Large Telescope is presently the flagship installation of ESO. It took about 15 years to develop the project, build it and put it into operation. During this process a number of interesting facts have been learnt and the experience then used to develop the next generation large facility of ESO, the ELT. One will try to summarize the facts which have defined the VLT the way it is

Start time: 2:45 p.m.

Coffee will be served before the seminar, at 2:30 p.m.

  • Alex Vamvakas
  • Ana Miarnau Marin
  • Benjamin Moser
  • Claude SANZ
  • David Belohrad
  • David Leimbach
  • Edu Marin
  • Eva Barbara Holzer
  • Felix Simon Carlier
  • Florian Bertin
  • Georges Trad
  • Giulia Gnemmi
  • Hannes Pahl
  • Hermann Pommerenke
  • Jakub Olexa
  • James Molson
  • Jan Uythoven
  • Jim Ogren
  • Jukka Väinölä
  • Konrad Puzniak
  • Krzysztof Szczurek
  • Luciana Kolbeck
  • Mateusz Sosin
  • Matthias Haase
  • Matthias Raudonis
  • Michele Bergamaschi
  • Niels Killian Noal Bidault
  • Oskar Martensson
  • Pablo Pines
  • Pawel Kucharski
  • Pierre Maesen
  • Rodolphe Maillet
  • Sebastien Bustamante
  • Sebastien Guy Tetaud
  • Serge Mathot
  • Simon Rains
  • Simone Callegari
  • Stefano Mazzoni
  • Suitbert Ramberger
  • Ylenia Brischetto
  • Zoi Blatsi
The agenda of this meeting is empty
Your browser is out of date!

If you are using Internet Explorer, please use Firefox, Chrome or Edge instead.

Otherwise, please update your browser to the latest version to use Indico without problems.