25-28 October 2018
US/Pacific timezone



Citizens of countries participating in the Visa Waiver Program do not need to apply for visas to attend the meetings. You may enter the United States using just your passports and your meeting registration notice. At the port of entry into the U.S, please request to be given a "Visa Waiver for Business" (WB) status. That will allow you to stay in the U.S. for the length of the meetings.

IMPORTANT: Effective January 12, 2009, all Visa Waiver travelers will be required to obtain an authorization via ESTA before traveling to the United States: https://esta.cbp.dhs.gov/.

The Visa Waiver countries are:

Andorra Hungary Norway
Australia Iceland Portugal
Austria Ireland San Marino
Belgium Italy Singapore
Brunei Japan Slovakia
Chile Latvia Slovenia
Czech Republic Liechtenstein South Korea
Denmark Lithuania Spain
Estonia Luxembourg Sweden
Finland Malta Switzerland
France Monaco Taiwan
Germany Netherlands United Kingdom
Greece New Zealand  


Citizens of countries not participating in the Visa Waiver Program will need to request a Business (B-1) visa at the nearest U.S. Consulate. Please present at the Consulate your meeting registration notice, along with your valid passport. We urge you to do this EARLY, as there are often delays in this process. Official letters of invitation (without financial commitment) to help overcome administrative difficulties in some countries can be sent upon request to tcortez@lbl.gov.


Although Canada is not a Visa Waiver country, Canadian citizens do not need to apply for visas at the U.S. Consulate. Citizens of Canada may enter the country using just their passports, along with their meeting registration notice. Please request at the port of entry status as a Visitor for Business (B-1).