Decoding new physics from data: connecting theory and signatures

Cosener's House

Cosener's House

15-16 Abbey Close Abingdon Oxfordshire OX14 3JD
Alexander Belyaev (Chair) (University of Southampton & Rutherford Appleton Laboratory) , Elena Accomando (University of Southampton) , Andrew Akeroyd (University of Southampton) , Jacob Thomas Linacre (Science and Technology Facilities Council STFC (GB)) , Stefano Moretti (Ex-officio) (University of Southampton)

General information.

The IX NExT PhD Workshop will be held at The Cosener's House, Abingdon, 8-11 July 2019. It will be devoted to strategies for searching and decoding new physics from collider and non-collider experiments.

PhD participation and fees: Accommodation, tuition and catering are free of charge for STFC and self-funded PhD students. We also have similar support for a limited number of other PhD students from the NExT Institute nodes. Depending on budget, travel may also be (partially) refunded, so please retain travel receipts.

The total number of PhD participants is limited to 40, with precedence being given to those in year 1, so please try to register promptly to ensure your participation. PhD students are encouraged to discuss their research in dedicated sessions via poster and talk presentations. Talks are expected to be of roughly 15 to 20 minutes (the exact duration will be announced nearer the date of the workshop).  The poster session will be from 2100 to 2200 on Tuesday 09 July. Please print out your poster (as A0 or A1) before coming to the workshop because there will not be any facilities to print out posters at Cosener's house.

Program and topics.

Topics: BSM Physics, Neutrino Physics, Particle Cosmology, Collider Physics.

Lecturers:  Giacomo Cacciapaglia (Technicolor & Composite Higgs), Glen Cowan (Statistical analysis),  Albert de Roeck (Higgs & BSM at the LHC),  Nazila Mahmoudi (Flavour & BSM at the LHC),  Sven Heinemyer (Higgs & BSM Phenomenology), Stefano Profumo (Cosmology and Dark Matter).

SEPnet Employer Panel Session, Thursday 11 July, 11.30 – 13.00  NExT workshop 2019. The SEPnet employer panel is aimed at raising awareness of career opportunities outside academia for physics doctorates. Panel representatives, all with physics or PhD backgrounds, will spend a few minutes outlining their role, what their organisation does, what skills/knowledge they are looking for and why they might be interested in physicists. The panel session will be followed by a Q&A session and an opportunity for students to talk to employers in small groups.



Alexander Belyaev (Chair), Elena Accomando, Andrew Akeroyd, Jacob Linacre.


Sponsors: STFC and SEPnet.

  • Adam Murphy
  • Albert De Roeck
  • Alexander Belyaev
  • Alexander Lind
  • Andrew Akeroyd
  • Arran Charles Freegard
  • Ben Kitching-Morley
  • Bradley Garland
  • Charlie Cresswell-Hogg
  • Chloe Gowling
  • Craig Brown
  • Daniel Locke
  • Dugald Hepburn
  • Eleanor Jones
  • Elena Accomando
  • Fang Xie
  • Felipe Abatte
  • Folkert Kuipers
  • Fëanor Reuben Ares
  • Giacomo Cacciapaglia
  • Giacomo Marocco
  • Glen Cowan
  • Hayden Alexander Smith
  • Henry Day-Hall
  • Huchan Lee
  • Jack Holguin
  • Jack Lindon
  • Jacob Linacre
  • Joe Michael Davies
  • Joseph Smith
  • Kla Karava
  • Maeve Madigan
  • Michele Santagata
  • Mike Soughton
  • Muyuan Song
  • Natasha Hehir
  • Nazila Mahmoudi
  • Ross Glew
  • Stefano Moretti
  • Stefano Profumo
  • Susana Molina Sedgwick
  • Sven Heinemeyer
  • Thomas Charman
  • Tong Qiu
  • Umit Utku
  • Yannick Kluth