2-7 June 2019
Simon Fraser University
America/Vancouver timezone
Welcome to the 2019 CAP Congress Program website! / Bienvenue au siteweb du programme du Congrès de l'ACP 2019 !

High-precision mass measurement of n-rich Rb & Sr isotopes at TITAN

Jun 5, 2019, 2:00 PM
DAC FT I (Simon Fraser University)


Simon Fraser University

Oral (Non-Student) / Orale (non-étudiant(e)) Nuclear Physics / Physique nucléaire (DNP-DPN) W2-8 Nuclear Astrophysics II (DNP) | Astrophysique nucléaire II (DPN)


Ish Mukul (TRIUMF)


High-precision mass spectroscopy plays a decisive role in addressing several open questions in contemporary nuclear physics, for example, to explain the observed abundances of atoms heavier than iron. About half of the neutron-rich isotopes up to uranium are synthesized via the rapid-neutron capture process (r-process) where the final nuclear abundance depends sensitively on the nuclear mass. Due to the exotic nature of r-process nuclei, their masses are usually uncertain (or unmeasured) and must be calculated using nuclear mass models. We have performed mass measurements of nuclei in the A = 100 mass region that lies in the r-process path using ion-trapping techniques to better constrain nuclear mass models. The masses of isotopic chains of 99-103 Rb and 99-105Sr were measured with 103Rb and 104-105Sr being measured for the first time.

The mass measurements were performed at TRIUMF’s Ion Trap for Atomic and Nuclear science (TITAN) facility, which is one of a kind for precision mass spectrometry. A Multi-Reflection Time-Of-Flight Mass Separator (MR-TOF-MS) was used as the mass spectrometer of choice. We have used the MR-TOF technique to measure these masses of ions with low intensities (~0.1 pps) and small half-lives (>25 ms). In this conference, we would like to present the results of mass measurements of n-rich Rb and Sr isotopes.

Primary author

Ish Mukul (TRIUMF)


Anna Kwiatkowski (TRIUMF) C. Andreoiu (Simon Fraser University) Maxime Brodeur (University of Notre Dame) Mr Kilian Dietrich (Heidelberg University, Germany; TRIUMF, Canada) Thomas Brunner (McGill University) Iris Dillmann ELEANOR DUNLING (TRIUMF) Gerald Gwinner (U. Manitoba) D. Fusco (TRIUMF/University of Waterloo) A. Jacobs (TRIUMF) Christopher Izzo (TRIUMF) Brian Kootte Yang Lan (TRIUMF) Erich Leistenschneider (TRIUMF) M. Lykiardopoulou (TRIUMF) S.F. Paul (TRIUMF) Moritz Pascal Reiter (TITAN) Prof. Robert Thompson (University of Calgary, Canada) J.L. Tracy, Jr. (TRIUMF) Michael Wieser (University of Calgary) Jens Dilling (triumf/UBC)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.