2-7 June 2019
Simon Fraser University
America/Vancouver timezone
Welcome to the 2019 CAP Congress Program website! / Bienvenue au siteweb du programme du Congrès de l'ACP 2019 !

A new measurement of the permanent electric dipole moment of 129-Xe using 3-He comagnetometry and SQUID detection

Jun 6, 2019, 2:00 PM
DAC FT I (Simon Fraser University)


Simon Fraser University

Oral (Non-Student) / Orale (non-étudiant(e)) Nuclear Physics / Physique nucléaire (DNP-DPN) R2-8 Ultracold Neutrons (DNP/PPD) | Neutrons ultrafroids (DPN/PPD)


Florian Kuchler


Permanent electric dipole moments (EDMs) arise due to the breaking of time-reversal or, equivalently, CP-symmetry. Although EDM searches have so far only set upper limits, which are many orders of magnitude larger than Standard Model (SM) predictions, the motivation for more sensitive EDM searches is stronger than ever.
The HeXe EDM experiment is using SQUIDs to detect the freely precessing nuclear spins of 129-Xe and 3-He to form a co-magnetometer in a very low magnetic field inside a high performance magnetically shielded room. The noble gas nuclei of 129-Xe and 3-He are simultaneously polarized by spin-exchange optical pumping using the rubidium D1 line at 795 nm. The newly developed EDM cells using silicon electrodes are filled with polarized gas directly from the optical pumping cell and then transferred into the magnetically shielded room. Inside, after applying a pi/2 pulse, both species can freely precess in the presence of applied magnetic and electric fields with transverse relaxation time constants beyond 4000 s. Low frequency precession signals are detected by SQUID sensors inside a liquid helium dewar with typical magnetic field noise density below 10 fT/sqrt(Hz).
In this talk I will report on the measurements leading to an improved limit on the EDM of 129-Xe.

Primary authors

Florian Kuchler Earl Babock (Jülich Center for Neutron Science) Martin Burghoff (Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) Berlin) Tim Chupp (Department of Physics, University of Michigan) Skyler Degenkolb (Institut Laue-Langevin) Isaac Fan (Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) Berlin) Peter Fierlinger (Excellence Cluster Universe and Technische Universität München) Eva Kraegeloh (Department of Physics, University of Michigan) Wolfgang Kilian (Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) Berlin) Sylvia Knappe-Grueneberg (Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) Berlin) Tinhao Liu (Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) Berlin) Michael Marino (Excellence Cluster Universe and Technische Universität München) Jonas Meinel (Excellence Cluster Universe and Technische Universität München) Natasha Sachdeva (Department of Physics, University of Michigan) Zahir Salhi (Jülich Center for Neutron Science) Allard Schnabel (Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) Berlin) Jaideep Singh (National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory and Department of Physics & Astronomy, Michigan State University) Stefan Stuiber (Excellence Cluster Universe and Technische Universität München) William Terrano (Excellence Cluster Universe and Technische Universität München) Lutz Trahms (Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) Berlin) Jens Voigt (Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) Berlin)

Presentation materials