2-7 June 2019
Simon Fraser University
America/Vancouver timezone
Welcome to the 2019 CAP Congress Program website! / Bienvenue au siteweb du programme du Congrès de l'ACP 2019 !

Characterization and development of a new SiPM with high VUV sensitivity for the nEXO Experiment

Jun 5, 2019, 11:45 AM
DAC FT II (Simon Fraser University)


Simon Fraser University

Oral not-in-competition (Graduate Student) / Orale non-compétitive (Étudiant(e) du 2e ou 3e cycle) Nuclear Physics / Physique nucléaire (DNP-DPN) W1-11 Neutrinoless Double Beta Decay (DNP/PPD) | Double désintégration bêta sans neutrino (DPN/PPD)


Giacomo Gallina (TRIUMF)


Silicon Photo-Multipliers (SiPMs) have emerged as a compelling photo-sensor solution over the course of the last decade. In contrast to the widely used Photo-Multipliers Tubes (PMTs), SiPMs have high single Photon Detection Efficiency (PDE) with negligible gain fluctuations, are low-voltage powered, optimal for operation at cryogenic temperatures, and have low radioactivity levels. For these reasons, large-scale low-background cryogenic experiments, such as the next-generation Enriched Xenon Observatory experiment (nEXO), are migrating to a SiPM-based light detection system. The current generation of Vacuum UltraViolet (VUV) SiPMs achieve at best 25% PDE below 300 nm compared to more than 50% at 420 nm, being limited by reflections and charge carrier collection close to the surface. The aim of this talk is to show a quantitative understanding of the processes that affect the SiPM performances. In particular we will show how we can describe, for different wavelengths, the SiPM PDE as a function of the bias voltage using a minimum set of parameters extracting: (i) the relative contribution of electrons vs holes, (ii) the length of an effective photon collection region. We will then use this parametrization to describe the SiPM dark noise, after-pulsing and cross-talk. This characterization is part of the development of a new generation of VUV SiPMs with very high efficiency in VUV (>50%) for operation in Liquid Argon and Liquid Xenon.

Primary authors

Giacomo Gallina (TRIUMF) Dr Fabrice Retiere (Triumf) Pietro Giampa Mr Peter Margetak Austin de St. Croix (TRIUMF/UBC) Dr Fatemeh Edaltafar Nicolas Massacret (Triumf)

Presentation materials