Indico has been upgraded to version 3.1. Details in the SSB

Identification and compensation of resonances in the Proton Synchrotron Booster

774/R-013 (CERN)



Show room on map
Efthymia Laderi (CERN)

Identification and compensation of resonances in the Proton Synchrotron Booster

Speakers: Andrea Santamaria Garcia (BE-OP) & Foteini Asvesta (BE-ABP)

The Proton Synchrotron Booster (PSB) is the first circular accelerator in the injector chain to the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) and accelerates protons from 50 MeV to 1.4 GeV. The PSB will need to deliver two times the current brightness after the LHC Injectors Upgrade (LIU) in order to meet the High Luminosity LHC beam requirements. At the current injection energy, a large incoherent space charge tune spread limits the brightness of the beams, which is one of the main motivations to increase the injection energy to 160 MeV with a new injection provided by Linac4, a new H- linear accelerator. The higher injection energy will allow doubling of the beam intensity while maintaining a space charge tune spread similar to current values. The degradation of the beam brightness due to the tune spread can be minimized with a proper choice of working point and an efficient compensation of resonances. In this seminar, we will introduce how space charge interacts with resonances, and how to measure and compensate those resonances.

Start time: 2:30 p.m.

Coffee will be served before the seminar, at 2:15 p.m.

  • adnan kurtulus
  • Alex Fomin
  • Andrea Santamaria Garcia
  • Angela Saa Hernandez
  • Arto Niemi
  • Cédric Lopes
  • Dimitris Lampridis
  • Efthymia Laderi
  • Eleftherios Fadakis
  • Eugenio Senes
  • Fabien Plassard
  • frank schmidt
  • Frank Tecker
  • Hampus Sandberg
  • Haroon Rafique
  • James Storey
  • Jean-Michel Nonglaton
  • JF Comblin
  • Jose Maria Fernandez Ochoa
  • Klaus Hanke
  • Lajos Bojtar
  • Marc Delrieux
  • Mauro Paoluzzi
  • Michelangelo Pari
  • Michele Morvillo
  • Nathan Pittet
  • Panos Zisopoulos
  • Paul Collier
  • ronaldus suykerbuyk
  • Simon Hirlander
  • Simon Mataguez
  • Steen Jensen
  • Stefania Papadopoulou
  • Sølve Slettebak
  • Vincent Barbet
  • Yannis Papaphilippou
The agenda of this meeting is empty