ECFA european committee for future accelerators

NOTES OF THE RESTRICTED ECFA MEETING HELD ON VIDYO ON 14 DECEMBER 2018

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Sec	ction	Page
LIS	ST OF PARTICIPANTS	ii
1.	ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA	1
2.	DISCUSSIONAND AGREEMENT ON THE MEMBERS OF THE	
	HIGGS@FUTURECOLLIDER WORKING GROUP	1
3.	ANY OTHER BUSINESS	2

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Belgium Chair: J. D'Hondt

Secretary: C. Lacasta Llácer Spain

Attendees:

P. Campana LNF M. Dam Denmark R. Forty **CERN** F. Gianotti **CERN** E. Gross Israel P. Iaydjiev Bulgaria Poland T. Lesiak P. Levai Hungary M. Mikuž Slovenia D. Milstead Sweden DESY J. Mnich A. Read Norway L. Rivkin Switzerland P. Schleper Germany

Czech Republic M. Sumbera

G. Wormser France A. Zoccoli Italy

Apologies:

NOTES OF THE RESTRICTED ECFA MEETING HELD ON VIDYO ON 14 DECEMBER 2018

1. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

The agenda (ECFA/RC/19/XXX) was approved.

Jorgen D'Hondt starts the meeting by updating RECFA on the progress of the preparation of the JOINT SEMINAR OF APPEC-ECFA-NUPECC. An open call was launched asking for venues. Four proposals were received: Valencia, Santiago de Compostela, Paris area and Vienna. The working group met earlier in the week and after a long discussion Paris was selected among the candidates. Jorgen D'Hondt congratulates Guy Wormer. A "save the date" message will be sent in January 2019. An organization committee will be formed by 3 persons nominated by each ECFA, NuPPEC and APPEC. Those will, in principle be the current chair, the previous chair and one additional delegate. Concerning ECFA, and with the agreement of Halina Abramowicz, who is busy with the Strategy update, Manfred Krammer was proposed as previous chair, Carlos Lacasta is also proposed as current Scientific Secretariat and Jorgen D'Hondt as current chair. The proposal is accepted.

2. <u>DISCUSSION AND AGREEMENT ON THE MEMBERS OF THE HIGGS@FUTURECOLLIDERS WORKING GROUP.</u>

(J. D'Hondt)

Jorgen D'Hondt explains, through the slides in http://cern.ch/go/x7fx, the spirit of the «Higgs@FutureColliders» working group, which is a group to assist the PPG in the preparations for the Open Symposium. It was agreed with the PPG that ECFA would help in the formation of the group. The "convenors" in the PPG who are connected to this specific topic (Beate Heinemann and Keith Ellis) and the ECFA chair will be included as ex-officio observers. A call for nominations was sent by the RECFA chair to RECFA members and to the PPG to propose suitable candidate members of the group. 41 nominations were received by December 7th. After consultation with the PPG members assigned to prepare the "EW physics" topics and discussion with RECFA delegates, the following names were selected, and their availability confirmed:

• Jorge de Blas (University of Padova, theory)

- Maria Cepeda (CIEMAT, experimental)
- Wouter Verkerke (NIKHEF, experimental)
- Aleandro Nisati (Rome, experimental)
- Christoph Grojean (DESY, theory)
- Fabio Maltoni (Louvain/Bologna, theory)
- Riccardo Ratazzi (EPFL, mathematic theory)

Eilam Gross asked about the two younger candidates (Maria Cepeda and Jorge de Blas). Jorgen D'Hondt replied that they have defended their PhD some 5-6 years ago. Jorge de Blas was proposed by several persons and is a key person on this topic for several future colliders. The same applies to Maria Cepeda who is one of the conveners of the Higgs physics chapter of the HL-LHC Yellow Book. Both have a strong reputation, according to Roger Forty.

Guy Wormser asked whether a Chair of the group will be selected and how. Jorgen D'Hondt replied that he will organize a meeting with the group members, Beate Heinemann and Keith Ellis in the coming week to explain the mandate and ask them whether they are ready to choose a Chair among themselves. Peter Schleper noted that someone helping to scrutinize the numbers on accelerator parameters, performance numbers and also experimental numbers like resolution achievable, etc. Jorgen D'Hondt replied that the PPG is preparing a group of people to do that.

Guy Wormser complains about having the e⁺e⁻ community being under-represented since most of them have connections to ATLAS or CMS. Jorgen D'Hondt replied that the persons proposed have all a very wide view, and that some of them are key person for these studies at e⁺e⁻ colliders. Fabiola Gianotti noted that the work of this group should not express judgement about the input received.

David Milstead asked whether LEP3, if nobody has proposed it, will be covered by this group. Jorgen D'Hondt replied that the working group will only discuss the input to the Strategy Process and will therefore not cover LEP3.

The committee endorsed the composition of the working group.

3. ANY OTHER BUSINESS

(J. D'Hondt)

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 15:45.