Sep 12 – 17, 2021
University of Birmingham
Europe/London timezone

Latest developments and characterisation results of the MALTA sensors in TowerJazz 180nm for High Luminosity LHC

Sep 15, 2021, 10:00 AM
Teaching and Learning Building (University of Birmingham)

Teaching and Learning Building

University of Birmingham

Edgbaston Campus University of Birmingham B15 2TT UK
talk Advances in Pixel Detectors and Integration Technologies Advances in Pixel Detectors and Integration Technologies I


Andrea Gabrielli (CERN)


MALTA is a novel monolithic active pixel CMOS sensor chip designed in TowerJazz 180nm imaging technology which targets radiation hard applications for the HL-LHC and beyond. Several process modifications and front-end improvements have been investigated and have resulted in radiation hardness up to 2e15 n/cm2 with time resolution below 2 ns. Further improvements to detector efficiency have been explored by changing the starting material for these sensors and using Czochralski instead of epitaxial silicon. This contribution will present the results from latest submission from the extensive lab testing and the characterization in particle beam tests with special focus on the new MALTA2 sensor.

Title Dr
Your name andrea gabrielli
Institute CERN

Primary author


Abhishek Sharma (CERN) Carlos Solans Sanchez (CERN) Craig Buttar (University of Glasgow (GB)) Daniela Bortoletto (University of Oxford (GB)) Dominik Dobrijevic (University of Zagreb (HR)) Florian Dachs (CERN) Francesco Piro (EPFL - Ecole Polytechnique Federale Lausanne (CH)) Heidi Sandaker (University of Oslo (NO)) Heinz Pernegger (CERN) Ignacio Asensi Tortajada (Univ. of Valencia and CSIC (ES)) Jose Torres Pais (Univ. of Valencia and CSIC (ES)) Leyre Flores Sanz De Acedo (University of Glasgow (GB)) Mateusz Dyndal (AGH UST Krakow) Milou Van Rijnbach (University of Oslo (NO)) Patrick Moriishi Freeman (University of Birmingham (GB)) Petra Riedler (CERN) Philip Patrick Allport (University of Birmingham (UK)) Roberto Cardella (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Tomislav Suligoj (University of Zagreb) Valerio Dao (CERN) Walter Snoeys (CERN)

Presentation materials