Sep 12 – 17, 2021
University of Birmingham
Europe/London timezone

A monolithic silicon pixel sensor in SiGe BiCMOS for the FASER high granularity pre-shower detector.

Sep 15, 2021, 6:25 PM
Teaching and Learning Building (University of Birmingham)

Teaching and Learning Building

University of Birmingham

Edgbaston Campus University of Birmingham B15 2TT UK
talk X-ray and Gamma Ray Detectors X-ray and Gamma Ray Detectors 2


Fulvio Martinelli (EPFL - Ecole Polytechnique Federale Lausanne (CH))


A monolithic silicon pixel detector is being designed in 130nm SiGe BiCMOS process of IHP to realize a pre-shower detector for the FASER experiment at CERN.
The pre-shower is designed to discriminate electromagnetic showers produced by two primary photons with an energy in the range 100 GeV to 1 TeV and with a separation as small as 200 micron. The monolithic ASIC will have hexagonal pixels of 65 micron of side, each capable to measure a charge in the range of 1 fC to 60 fC. To reconstruct the profile of the electromagnetic shower, the sensor must be able to read hundreds of pixels firing at the same time. The detector planes will have a time resolution of approximately 200 ps. The power budget is limited to less than 150 mW/cm2.
The pre-production prototypes, submitted in June 2021, implement two alternative architectures to enable the readout of many pixels with a very large dynamic range.


Primary authors

Lorenzo Paolozzi (CERN) Pierpaolo Valerio (CERN) Giuseppe Iacobucci (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Marzio Nessi (CERN) Fulvio Martinelli (EPFL - Ecole Polytechnique Federale Lausanne (CH)) Antonio Picardi (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Ivan Peric (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE)) Théo Moretti (University of Geneva) Roberto Cardella (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Chiara Magliocca (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Didier Ferrere (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Anna Sfyrla (Universite de Geneve (CH)) D M S Sultan (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Magdalena Munker (CERN) Mateus Vicente Barreto Pinto (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Yana Gurimskaya (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Yannick Favre (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Matteo Milanesio (University of Turin) Carlo Enrico Pandini (University of Geneva) Sergio Gonzalez Sevilla (Universite de Geneve (CH))

Presentation materials