Sep 12 – 17, 2021
University of Birmingham
Europe/London timezone

MONOLITH – pico-second time-stamping in fully monolithic highly-granular pixel sensors

Sep 13, 2021, 4:45 PM
Teaching and Learning Building (University of Birmingham)

Teaching and Learning Building

University of Birmingham

Edgbaston Campus University of Birmingham B15 2TT UK
talk Medical Applications of Position Sensitive Detectors Medical Applications of Position Sensitive Detectors 1


Magdalena Munker (CERN)


The MONOLITH H2020 ERC project aims at the development of fully monolithic highly granular pixel sensors with pico-second time-stamping capabilities. Using high-resistivity epitaxial layer material in combination with a continuous deep and thin gain layer, a pico-second fast detector response is achieved over the full pixel cell. The placement of the gain layer away from the pixel junctions additionally allows for a small pixel pitch of down to 50 micrometers, resulting in a high spatial precision. Making use of silicon-germanium BiCMOS technology, a ultra-fast and low noise front end has been implemented inside a large collection electrode design.
Various prototypes of this technology have been produced with different variations, including various doping levels and different complexity of in-pixel circuitry. The prototypes have been investigated in laboratory and test-beam measurements, with a focus on the sensor gain, time-stamping capability and detection efficiency.
This contribution will introduce the novel sensor concept and discuss the front-end that has been implemented in the SiGe BiCMOS technology. Results of laboratory measurements with radioactive sources will be presented, including measurements of the sensor gain with an iron source and timing measurements that have been performed with a strontium source.

Institute University of Geneva
Nationality German
Your name Magdalena Munker

Primary authors

Antonio Picardi (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Chiara Magliocca (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Didier Ferrere (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Roberto Cardella (Universite de Geneve (CH)) D M S Sultan (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Fulvio Martinelli (EPFL - Ecole Polytechnique Federale Lausanne (CH)) Giuseppe Iacobucci (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Holger Ruecker (ihp-microelectronics) Lorenzo Paolozzi (CERN) Magdalena Munker (CERN) Matteo Milanesio (University of Turin) Pierpaolo Valerio (CERN) Sergio Gonzalez Sevilla (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Théo Moretti (University of Geneva) Yana Gurimskaya (Universite de Geneve (CH))

Presentation materials