Sep 12 – 17, 2021
University of Birmingham
Europe/London timezone

Characterization of irradiated RD53A pixel modules with passive CMOS sensors (in-person)

Sep 17, 2021, 9:50 AM



Arash Jofrehei (Universitaet Zuerich (CH))


We are investigating the feasibility of using CMOS foundries to fabricate silicon radiation detectors, both for pixels and for large-area strip sensors. The availability of multi-layer routing will provide the freedom to optimize the sensor geometry and the performance, with biasing structures in poly-silicon layers and MIM-capacitors allowing for AC coupling. A prototyping production of strip test-structures and RD53A compatible pixel sensors was recently completed at LFoundry in 150nm CMOS process. This presentation will focus on the characterization of irradiated and non-irradiated pixel modules, composed by a CMOS passive sensor interconnected to a RD53A chip. The sensors are designed with a pixel cell of 25$\times$100 $\mu m^2$ in case of DC coupled devices and 50$\times$50 $\mu m^2$ for the AC coupled ones. Their performance in terms of charge collection, position resolution, and hit efficiency was studied with measurements performed in the laboratory and with beam tests. The RD53A modules with LFoundry silicon sensors were irradiated to fluences up to 1016 neq/cm2.

Institute University of Zurich
Your name Arash Jofrehei
Nationality Iranian

Primary authors

Arash Jofrehei (Universitaet Zuerich (CH)) Malte Backhaus (ETH Zurich (CH)) Pascal Raffael Baertschi (Universitaet Zuerich (CH)) Florencia Canelli (Universitaet Zuerich (CH)) Yannick Manuel Dieter (University of Bonn (DE)) Jochen Christian Dingfelder (University of Bonn (DE)) Franz Glessgen (ETH Zurich (CH)) Tomasz Hemperek (University of Bonn (DE)) Fabian Huegging (University of Bonn) Weijie Jin (Universitaet Zuerich (CH)) Ben Kilminster (Universitaet Zuerich (CH)) Anna Macchiolo (Universitaet Zuerich (CH)) Daniel Muenstermann (Lancaster University (GB)) David-Leon Pohl Arne Christoph Reimers (Universitaet Zuerich (CH)) Branislav Ristic (ETH Zurich) Rainer Wallny (ETH Zurich (CH)) Tianyang Wang (University of Bonn (DE)) Norbert Wermes (University of Bonn (DE)) Pascal Wolf (University of Bonn)

Presentation materials