Sep 12 – 17, 2021
University of Birmingham
Europe/London timezone

A table-top Two Photon Absorption – TCT system: measurements of irradiated and non-irradiated silicon sensors

Sep 17, 2021, 10:33 AM
Teaching and Learning Building (University of Birmingham)

Teaching and Learning Building

University of Birmingham

Edgbaston Campus University of Birmingham B15 2TT UK
poster Detectors for High Radiation and Extreme Environments Poster Session 7 (Detectors for High Radiation and Extreme Environments)


Sebastian Pape (Technische Universitaet Dortmund (DE))


The Transient Current Technique (TCT) is widely used in the field of silicon particle
detector development. So far, mainly Single Photon Absorption – Transient Current
Technique (SPA-TCT) was performed, using laser wavelengths with a photon energy
larger than or similar to the silicon band-gap. Recently, measurements employing two
photon absorption for the testing of the silicon bulk properties were carried out for
the first time. Excess charge carriers are generated only in a small volume (approx. 1
um x 1um x 20 um) around the focal point of the laser beam, so that resolution in all
three spatial directions is achieved. Furthermore, compared to what is customary in
SPA-TCT, the resolution perpendicular to the incident laser beam was increased one
order of magnitude. Following the initial success of the method, a compact Two
Photon Absorption – Transient Current Technique (TPA-TCT) setup has been
developed and first measurements were performed. The current status of the setup
and the results obtained on non-irradiated silicon strip and LGAD sensors as well as
irradiated LGAD sensors will be covered in this talk.

Your name Sebastian Pape
Nationality german
Institute CERN / TU Dortmund University
Title Mr

Primary author

Sebastian Pape (Technische Universitaet Dortmund (DE))


Francisco Rogelio Palomo Pinto (Universidad de Sevilla (ES)) Ivan Vila Alvarez (Instituto de Física de Cantabria (CSIC-UC)) Marcos Fernandez Garcia (Universidad de Cantabria and CSIC (ES)) Michael Moll (CERN) Moritz Oliver Wiehe (Albert Ludwigs Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Mr Raúl Montero Santos (Universidad del Pais Vasco)

Presentation materials