Sep 12 – 17, 2021
University of Birmingham
Europe/London timezone

Characterisation of HV-MAPS ATLASPix3 and its applications for future lepton colliders

Sep 17, 2021, 8:09 AM
Teaching and Learning Building (University of Birmingham)

Teaching and Learning Building

University of Birmingham

Edgbaston Campus University of Birmingham B15 2TT UK
poster Advances in Pixel Detectors and Integration Technologies Poster Sesion 6 (Advances in Pixel Detectors and Integration Technologies)


Bianca Raciti (Università degli Studi di Milano)


High voltage CMOS pixel sensors have been proposed in several future particle physics experiments for particle tracking. ATLASPix3 is the first full reticle size (2×2 cm^2) Monolithic Active Pixel high voltage CMOS sensor, developed in context of the ATLAS upgrade for High Luminosity Large Hadron Collider (HL-LHC). It is designed to meet the specifications of outer layers of the ATLAS inner tracker (ITk) pixel subsystem. ATLASPix3 has been implemented in a standard 180nm HVCMOS process, containing 132 x 372 pixels, each with an area of 150 x 50 µm². The readout electronics supports both triggered and triggerless readout with zero-suppression. The excellent position resolution, high readout rate (40 MHz), and high radiation tolerance make ATLASPix3 an ideal candidate for large-area tracking detector R&D of future collider experiments. It is under study for the Circular Electron Positron Collider (CEPC) silicon tracker. New versions tailored to different experiments are under development.

Results of electrical tests, sensor calibration and measurements with radioactive sources and lasers will be presented on individual chips and first multi-chip-modules. Multi-module readout architectures and large prototype demonstrator design concepts will be discussed.

Your name Yanyan
Title Dr
Institute Gao

Primary authors

Bianca Raciti (Università degli Studi di Milano) Yanyan Gao (University of Edinburgh (GB)) Rudolf Schimassek (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE)) Jaap Velthuis (University of Bristol) Harald Fox (Lancaster University (GB)) Attilio Andreazza (Università degli Studi e INFN Milano (IT)) Hongbo Zhu (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN)) Juliette Martin (University of Edinburgh) Tim Jones (University of Liverpool (GB)) Yiming Li (Institute of High Energy Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN)) Yubo Han (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN)) Zirui Feng (University of Bristol) Dr Hui Zhang (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)) Prof. Ivan Peric (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE))

Presentation materials