Indico has been upgraded to version 3.1. Details in the SSB

Optical transceivers for event triggers in the ATLAS phase-I upgrade

Dec 14, 2019, 3:12 PM
POSTER - Sun: B1F-Meeting room#3, B2F-RAN1/2; Mon-Wed: B1F Meeting rooms #5-6 (International Conference Center Hiroshima)

POSTER - Sun: B1F-Meeting room#3, B2F-RAN1/2; Mon-Wed: B1F Meeting rooms #5-6

International Conference Center Hiroshima

Peace Memorial Park, Hiroshima-shi
POSTER Technologies POSTER


Jia-Hao Li (National Taiwan University (TW))


The ATLAS phase-I upgrade aims to enhance event triggers in the Liquid Argon (LAr) calorimeter and the forward muon spectrometer. The trigger signals are transmitted with customized optical transceivers at ~5 Gbps per channel in a radiation hazard. We report on the design, quality control in production and ageing tests of the transceivers fabricated with the LOCld laser driver circuits and multi-mode 850 nm vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser (VCSEL). The modules are packaged in customized miniature formats of dual-channel transmitter (MTx) and transceiver (MTRx) for the LAr. The transmitters are also packaged in the commercial small form-factor pluggable (SFP) format for the muon spectrometer. The LOCld is configurable for laser bias and modulation of outputs. In production, the LOCld chips, the 10 Gbps VCSELs and photodiodes in TOSA/ROSA format were measured and selected for uniformity in quality. Each channel is tested for 10 Gbps Bit-Error with the eye-diagrams recorded for analysis. The average light power and modulation amplitude of transmitters are distributed with standard deviations in 5 %. The production yield is better than 99 % for the total of about 5k modules. Ageing effects are monitored in burn-in of a small batch of transmitter modules in room condition. The eye-diagrams are measurements periodically and the observables are stable within the 5% systematic uncertainty over a period of more than 4k hours.

Submission declaration Original and unpublished

Primary authors

Li ZHANG (Central China Normal University, China) Datao Gong (Southern Methodist Univeristy) Dr Suen Hou (Inst. of Physics, AS) Xueye Hu (Umich) Jia-Hao Li (National Taiwan University (TW)) Chonghan Liu (Southern Methodist University) Tiankuan Liu (Southern Methodist University (US)) Thomas Andrew Schwarz (University of Michigan (US)) Jingbo Ye (Southern Methodist University, Department of Physics) Chufeng Chen (SMU) Ian Cohen Elijah Cruda Xing Huang (Southern Methodist University) Lezly Murphy Hanhan Sun Zhengguang Wang Wei Zhang (Southern Methodist University) James Thomas

Presentation materials