Indico has been upgraded to version 3.1. Details in the SSB

An experimental study on the charge transfer inefficiency of X-ray CCDs developed for the XRISM satellite

Dec 15, 2019, 2:20 PM
Sun: B1F-Meeting rooms#4-6; Mon-Wed: B2F-RAN (International Conference Center Hiroshima)

Sun: B1F-Meeting rooms#4-6; Mon-Wed: B2F-RAN

International Conference Center Hiroshima

Peace Memorial Park, Hiroshima-shi
ORAL Applications in astrophysics Session3


Yoshiaki Kanemaru (University of Miyazaki)


XRISM is the seventh Japanese X-ray astronomical satellite planned to be launched in early 2020's, and carries an X-ray charge-coupled device (CCD) camera as one of the two focal plane detectors. The camera has four P-channel back-illuminated CCDs with an imaging area size of 31 mm $\times$ 31 mm arranged in a 2$\times$2 array. The charge transfer inefficiency (CTI) is defined as a fraction of charge loss per one pixel transfer, which is caused by the trap of signal charge with defects in the channel, and the modeling of the CTI is the key of the CCD calibration especially for such a large-format CCD. The CTI depends on several operational/observational parameters: transfer rate, pixel size, X-ray photon energy, X-ray event grade, X-ray photon flux, CCD temperature, and so on. We here present an experimental study on the CTI dependencies on these parameters. X-ray CCD data frames are obtained with different clocking modes, different incident X-ray energy, different X-ray photon flux, and different CCD temperatures. Analyzing this data set allows us to disentangle the degeneracy of the CTI dependencies and build a more reliable CTI correction model. X-ray spectra before and after applying the CTI correction utilizing these results are also shown.

Submission declaration Original and unpublished

Primary authors

Yoshiaki Kanemaru (University of Miyazaki) Jin Sato (University of Miyazaki) Toshiyuki Takaki (University of Miyazaki) Mariko Saito (Nara Women’s University) Kumiko Nobukawa (Nara Women’s University) Takaaki Tanaka (Kyoto University) Hiroyuki Uchida (Kyoto University) Koji Mori (University of Miyazaki) Yusuke Nishioka (University of Miyazaki) Kiyoshi Hayashida (Osaka University) Hironori Matsumoto (Osaka University) Hirofumi Noda (Osaka University) Maho Hanaoka (Osaka University) Tomokage Yoneyama (Osaka University) Koki Okazaki (Osaka University) Kazunori Asakura (Osaka University) Shotaro Sakuma (Osaka University) Kengo Hattori (Osaka University) Ayumi Ishikura (Osaka University) Yuki Amano (Kyoto University) Hiromichi Okon (Kyoto University) Takeshi Tsuru (Kyoto University) Hiroshi Tomida (ISAS) Hikari Kashimura (Kanto Gakuin University) Hiroshi Nakajima (Kanto Gakuin University) Takayoshi Kohmura (Tokyo University of Science) Koichi Hagino (Tokyo University of Science) Hiroshi Murakami (Tohoku Gakuin University) Shogo Kobayashi (Tokyo University of Science) Makoto Yamauchi (University of Miyazaki) Isamu Hatsukade (University of Miyazaki) Takashi Sako (Nara University of Education) Masayoshi Nobukawa (Nara University of Education) Yukino Urabe (Kwansei Gakuin University) Junko Hiraga (Kwansei Gakuin University) Hideki Uchiyama (Shizuoka University) Kazutaka Yamaoka (Nagoya University) Masanobu Ozaki (ISAS) Tadayasu Dotani (ISAS) Hiroshi Tsunemi (Osaka University)

Presentation materials