

### Jozsef Zimanyi (1931 - 2006)

Renowned Hungarian physicist; chair of Science Council of KFKI; Academician.

Hungarian representative on the CERN Council (1992 - 2004).

Széchenyi Prize (2000).

Pioneered the notions of hadrochemistry and quarkochemistry in quark matter research; and one of the pioneers of the use of the relativistic hydrodynamical model for nuclear collisions. Established Budapest heavy ion physics research school that is continued by his students.

Zimanyi Medal award was established in 2011.



# Zimanyi Medal Rules

The Zimanyi Medal is awarded to an outstanding young researcher working in heavy-ion physics theory. The research field is understood as generously wide, but it is oriented on Joszef Zimanyi's life work. No distinction, neither positive nor negative, can be made on the ground of race, gender, or nationality.

Anyone who left this field of research (even if only recently) cannot be awarded this medal. An awardee must not have completed the fortieth year after birth (exceed the age of 39) until the beginning of the Quark Matter conference at which the Medal is awarded. The award cannot be shared among several persons.

### **Selection Process**

#### **The Selection Committee**

Helen Caines (Yale) Csörgő, Tamás (ZPF) Hannah Elfner (FIAS/GSI) Eskola, Kari (Jyväskylä) Fukushima, Kenji (Tokyo) Grassi, Frédérique (Sao Paulo) Jacak, Barbara (LBNL) Aleksi Kurkela (Stavanger) Lévai, Péter (Wigner Inst.) McLerran, Larry (INT Seattle) Molnár, Dénes (Purdue) Ollitrault, Jean-Yves (Saclay) Sasaki, Chihiro (Wroclaw) Schenke, Björn (BNL) Wang, Xin-Nian (CCNU) Wiedemann, Urs (CERN)

Mueller, Berndt (chair) Bíró, Tamás (Zimanyi Foundation)

#### **The Selection Process**

Nomination round (18 nominees)

1<sup>st</sup> voting round (3 votes each)

 $\rightarrow$  short list (7 candidates)

 $2^{nd}$  voting round (2 votes each)  $\rightarrow$  finalists (2 candidates)

 $3^{rd}$  voting round (1 vote each)  $\rightarrow$  winner

#### **Previous Winners**

2011 Tetsufumi Hirano
2012 Péter Petreczky
2014 Tuomas Lappi
2015 Chihiro Sasaki
2017 Björn Schenke
2018 Hannah Petersen (Elfner)
2019 Aleksi Kurkela

## The Winner 2022



#### Sören Schlichting

2009 B.Sc. (Darmstadt)

2010 M.Sc. (Michigan State U)

2013 Ph.D. (Heidelberg)

2013-2016 Goldhaber Fellow (BNL)

2016-2018 Res. Asst. Prof. (Seattle)

2018- Junior Professor (Bielefeld)

51 refereed publications 2528 citations on INSPIRE-HEP *h*-Index 28

### **Primary Accomplishments**

S. Schlichting and S. Pratt,

Charge conservation at energies available at the BNL RHIC and contributions to local parity violation observables Phys. Rev. C 83, 014913 (2011) [arXiv:1009.4283 [nucl-th]] 171 citations

J. Berges, K. Boguslavski, **S. Schlichting** and R. Venugopalan Turbulent thermalization process in heavy-ion collisions at ultrarelativistic energies Phys. Rev. D 89, 074011 (2014) [arXiv:1303.5650 [hep-ph]] 228 citations

N. Müller, **S. Schlichting** and S. Sharma Chiral magnetic effect and anomalous transport from real-time lattice simulations Phys. Rev. Lett. 117, 142301 (2016) [arXiv:1606.00342 [hep-ph]] 51 citations

M. Mace, **S. Schlichting** and R. Venugopalan Off-equilibrium sphaleron transitions in the Glasma Phys. Rev. D 93, 074036 (2016) [arXiv:1601.07342 [hep-ph]] 75 citations

A. Kurkela, A. Mazeliauskas, J. F. Paquet, **S. Schlichting** and D. Teaney, Matching the Nonequilibrium Initial Stage of Heavy Ion Collisions to Hydrodynamics with QCD Kinetic Theory Phys. Rev. Lett. 122, 122302 (2019) [arXiv:1805.01604 [hep-ph]] 111 citations

# The really important stuff

The 2022 Zimányi Medal on Nuclear Theory



awarded to

Sören Schlichting

and presented

at the Quark Matter 2022 Conference Cracow, Poland

For his groundbreaking work on turbulence in Yang-Mill fluids and its implications for thermalization in heavy ion collisions, and his important contribution to matching the nonequilibrium initial stage of heavy ion collisions to hydrodynamics with QCD kinetic theory.

Prof. Tamás Sándor Bíró Chair of Zimányi Physics Foundation Prof. Berndt Müller Chair of the Selection Committee



Call Call



