3-5 June 2020
Europe/Zurich timezone

Initial I-V and e-TCT measurements of a depleted CMOS sensor within the CERN-RD50 collaboration

5 Jun 2020, 14:00


Matthew Lewis Franks


Future high energy particle physics experiments, such as the High Luminosity Large Hadron Collider (HL-LHC) and the proposed Future Circular Collider (FCC), will reach unprecedented energies and produce many billions of particles per second to probe into physics beyond the standard model. As part of these experiments, detectors will need to be capable of recording this incredibly large number of particles, and withstand damage sustained after prolonged use in these harsh environments.
In this work we present initial I-V and Edge Transient Current Technique (e-TCT) measurements of a Depleted Monolithic Active Pixel Sensor (DMAPS) prototype, “RD50-MPW2”. This prototype is being developed by the CERN-RD50 collaboration to study these sensors for future particle physics experiments and has been recently fabricated in the 150 nm High-Voltage CMOS (HV-CMOS) process from LFoundry.

Primary authors

Matthew Lewis Franks Christian Irmler (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Igor Mandic (Jozef Stefan Institute (SI)) Ricardo Marco Hernandez (CERN) Carlos Marinas Pardo (Univ. of Valencia and CSIC (ES)) Samuel Powell (University of Liverpool (GB)) Patrick Sieberer (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Helmut Steininger (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Eva Vilella Figueras (University of Liverpool (GB)) Joost Vossebeld (University of Liverpool (GB)) Chenfan Zhang (University of Liverpool (GB)) Thomas Bergauer (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Ana Catalan (IFIC (CSIC-UV)) Gianluigi Casse (University of Liverpool (GB)) Marlon B. Barbero (CPPM, Aix-Marseille Université, CNRS/IN2P3 (FR)) Patrick Pangaud (Aix Marseille Univ, CNRS/IN2P3, CPPM, Marseille, France) Nicola Massari (FBK) Raimon Casanova Mohr (The Barcelona Institute of Science and Technology (BIST) (ES)) Sebastian Grinstein (IFAE - Barcelona (ES)) Fabian Alexander Forster (IFAE Barcelona (ES)) Ivan Vila Alvarez (Instituto de Física de Cantabria (CSIC-UC)) William Helmqvist (U. Lancaster) Daniel Muenstermann (Lancaster University (GB)) Fernando Munoz Chavero (Universidad de Sevilla (ES)) Jose Maria Hinojo Montero (Universidad de Sevilla (ES)) Enrique Lopez Morillo (Universidad de Sevilla (ES)) Francisco Rogelio Palomo Pinto (Universidad de Sevilla (ES))

Presentation materials