3-5 June 2020
Europe/Zurich timezone

Data acquisition system for the characterization of the RD50 HV-CMOS active pixel matrix prototypes

5 Jun 2020, 14:50


Christian Irmler (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT))


The data acquisition (DAQ) system used to read out and characterize the two versions of RD50 HV-CMOS prototype chips (MPW1 and MPW2) is based on the CaRIBOu (Control and Readout Inner tracking Board) system. CaRIBOu is a widely used versatile DAQ platform to characterize pixel detectors and ASICs, such as CLICpix2, C3PD and others. It consists of a system-on-chip board (e.g. Xilinx ZC706), a control and readout (CaR) interface board and an application specific detector carrier board. In a first approach chip boards and firmware for the chip specific functionality of both MPW1 and MPW2, respectively, were developed. Moreover, a custom software was implemented and executed in the embedded CPU of the SoC board to configure and read out the chips. For future integration into data acquisition frameworks like EUDAQ, chip specific device modules for the CaRIBOu DAQ software framework Peary are being developed and operated for the two RD50 chips.
In this contribution, we will describe the hardware of the DAQ system as well as first experience of the integration into the Peary software framework. Moreover, the latest developments of an alternative DAQ hardware, currently being developed at IFIC Valencia, will be presented.

Primary authors

Christian Irmler (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Klemens Flöckner (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Ricardo Marco Hernandez (CERN) Helmut Steininger (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT))


Oscar Alonso Casanovas (University of Barcelona) Marlon B. Barbero (CPPM, Aix-Marseille Université, CNRS/IN2P3 (FR)) Thomas Bergauer (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Raimon Casanova Mohr (The Barcelona Institute of Science and Technology (BIST) (ES)) Gianluigi Casse (University of Liverpool (GB)) Ana Catalan (IFIC (CSIC-UV)) Angel Dieguez (Universitat de Barcelona) Fabian Alexander Forster (IFAE Barcelona (ES)) Matthew Lewis Franks Laura Gonella (University of Birmingham (UK)) Sebastian Grinstein (IFAE - Barcelona (ES)) Jan Hammerich (University of Liverpool) William Helmqvist ((U. Lancaster)) Jose Maria Hinojo Montero (Universidad de Sevilla (ES)) Bojan Hiti (Jozef Stefan Institute (SI)) Nissar Karim (U. Liverpool) Ioannis Kopsalis (University of Birmingham (GB)) Enrique Lopez Morillo (Universidad de Sevilla (ES)) Igor Mandic (Jozef Stefan Institute (SI)) Carlos Marinas Pardo (Univ. of Valencia and CSIC (ES)) Nicola Massari ((FBK)) Jose Mazorra De Cos (Univ. of Valencia and CSIC (ES)) Daniel Muenstermann (Lancaster University (GB)) Fernando Munoz Chavero (Universidad de Sevilla (ES)) Francisco Rogelio Palomo Pinto (Universidad de Sevilla (ES)) Patrick Pangaud (Aix Marseille Univ, CNRS/IN2P3, CPPM, Marseille, France) Samuel Powell (University of Liverpool (GB)) Patrick Sieberer (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Dr Ivan Vila Alvarez (Instituto de Física de Cantabria (CSIC-UC)) Eva Vilella Figueras (University of Liverpool (GB)) Joost Vossebeld (University of Liverpool (GB)) Chenfan Zhang (University of Liverpool (GB))

Presentation materials