Copernicus Webinar and Colloquium Series

Europe/Zurich
Description
To promote scientific discussions during this pandemic, we are organizing an online seminar series, i.e. Copernicus Webinar Series, seeking the most outstanding speakers to introduce innovative ideas and important progress in the field of gravity and cosmology. This series is named after the famous Polish Astronomer, Nicolaus Copernicus, whose discovery eventually marked the dawn of modern science.
 
We would like to invite you to take part in the upcoming 72nd Copernicus Webinar
 
Time:                  7th December, Tuesday, 3pm CET (10 pm Beijing time, 11 pm JST, 9 am ET)
 
Speaker:            Camille Bonvin (Geneva U.)
 

Title: Testing the equivalence principle on cosmological scales

 

Abstract: The weak equivalence principle is one of the cornerstones of general relativity. Its validity has been tested with impressive precision in the Solar System, with experiments involving baryonic matter and light.  However, on cosmological scales and when dark matter is concerned, the validity of this principle is still unknown. In this talk I will show how relativistic effects in the large-scale structure can be used to test whether dark matter obeys the weak equivalence principle. I will present forecasts for this new test of gravity for future surveys like the SKA.