We upgraded Indico to version 3.0. The new search is now available as well.

Copernicus Webinar and Colloquium Series

Europe/Zurich
Description

To promote scientific discussions during this pandemic, we are organizing an online seminar series, i.e. Copernicus Webinar Series, seeking the most outstanding speakers to introduce innovative ideas and important progress in the field of gravity and cosmology. This series is named after the famous Polish Astronomer, Nicolaus Copernicus, whose discovery eventually marked the dawn of modern science.

We would like to invite you to take part in the upcoming 49th Webinar talk,
 

speaker:          Antonio Padilla (Nottingham University)

Time:             15th June, Tuesday, 3pm Krakow time (9pm Beijing time, 10pm JST, 9am EDT)

Title :  A stringy perspective on the coincidence problem

Abstract :

The cosmological coincidence problem is the question of why now? Why do we live at the dawn of dark energy domination, when the energy density of dark matter and dark energy are roughly comparable? In this talk, I will describe how the problem is significantly alleviated, if not entirely solved,  in generic string theory models of dark energy.  

We also would like to invite you to take part in the upcoming 5th Colloquium talk,

speaker:          Edward Witten (IAS)

Time:             17th June, Thursday, 3pm, Krakow time (9pm Beijing time, 10pm JST, 9am EDT)

Title :  Black Hole Thermodynamics, Then and Now

Zoom link for the Colloquium: https://hkust.zoom.us/my/copernicus
meeting id: 9423380685
Password: gravity