

Procedure for election of Chair and General Secretary 2020

December 2020 – Job de Kleuver

Stipulations in the APPEC MOU

The General Assembly is responsible for electing a chairperson (Article 4.3 of the MOU), and appointing the General Secretary (Article 4.6 (g)).

Article 4.7 states that the 'General Assembly shall not deliberate and decide validly unless at least half of the countries are present or represented. There will be only one vote per country..'

Voting Rules for the General Assembly state that the chairperson should strive towards a unanimous decision in all cases.

In cases where a unanimous decision cannot be reached, decision shall be taken by a majority of two-thirds (2/3) of the votes cast.

Any Participating Institution unable to attend a General Assembly meeting may appoint a proxy who must also be a Participating Institution of APPEC.

Procedure for the election of the Chairperson and General Secretary

Planning of the agenda item

11:20: Introduction11:30: Public presentations by the candidates12:10: Start closed session, followed by lunch break13:30: Restart meeting with announcement results

Presentations/questions candidates (5+5 min each)

<u>Attendance</u>

All attendees of the GA meeting (see list) are invited to attend the presentations and questions sessions of the candidates. The candidates will not attend each other's presentations/questions sessions.

Planning:

11:30: Katharina Henjes-Kunst11:40: Andreas Haungs11:50: Manel Martinez12:00: Mathieu de Naurois

Deliberations GA

Attendance

This is a closed session for GA members only (see list on page 3). Participation shall be restricted to the representatives of the Participating Institutions of the General Assembly. All other attendees shall withdraw from the Zoom room prior to the beginning of the item. Nominees for the position of Chairperson who are nominated representatives of the Participating Institutions shall not participate in this item on the agenda. Any such nominees may appoint a proxy for voting in accordance with Article 4.7.

<u>Quorum</u>

The current General Secretary will confirm that the meeting is quorate (including any proxy votes). APPEC has 17 member countries (see attached list). So at least 9 countries have to be present for valid decisions.

Procedure General Secretary election

We first discuss the election of the General Secretary.

The GA will endeavour to reach a decision by consensus. Should this not prove possible, a vote will be taken. If a voting majority is not reached, the General Assembly will be informed of the result and a discussion undertaken with the aim of reaching a consensus. Should this not prove possible a second vote will be taken.

If the voting majority is reached a final voting will be taken with the aim to get consensus. If in this final vote there is no "no vote", we call the election unanimous.

Procedure APPEC Chair election

After that we discuss the election of the APPEC Chair.

The GA will endeavour to reach a decision by consensus. Should this not prove possible, a vote will be taken. If a voting majority is not reached, the General Assembly will be informed of the result and a discussion undertaken with the aim of reaching a consensus. Should this not prove possible a second vote will be taken with the two candidates with most votes in the first voting.

If in this second voting a voting majority is not reached, the GA will be informed of the result and a further discussion undertaken. This can lead to a number of votings.

If the voting majority is reached a final voting will be taken with the aim to get consensus. If in this final vote there is no "no vote", we call the election unanimous.

Voting via Zoom: specific preparations

We will use the polls option of Zoom for the votings. These votings will be anonymous.

Since some countries (Belgium, France, Germany, The Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom) have more than one representative in the GA we have to identify one 'voting' member of each of this countries. These voting members stay in the Zoom main room in case of a voting. All non-voting members will be moved during a voting to a Zoom breakout room. As soon as the voting is done, the non voting members will join again to discuss the results of a voting.

The request is to check and complete the list on page 3, so that all voting members are identified before the meeting. Info from France and Spain is needed, the others are already available.

Country	Name	Affiliation	Role	Non voting	Voting member
Chair	Teresa Montaruli	Unige	chair GA	non voting	
Vice chair	Christian Stegmann	DESY Zeuthen	vice chair GA	non voting	
Belgium	Catherine De Clercq	FWO	member GA		Catherine De Clercq
	Laurent Favart	FNRS	member GA	non voting	
Czech Republic	Ivan Stekl	IEAP-CTU	member GA		Ivan Stekl
Finland	Katri Huitu	HIP	member GA		Katri Huitu
France	Nathalie Besson	CEA	member GA		
	Berrie Giebels	CNRS IN2P3	member GA		
Germany	Uli Katz	KAT/Erlangen	member GA		Uli Katz
	Andreas Haungs	KIT	member GA	non voting	
Greece	Manolis Plionis	NOA	member GA		Manolis Plionis
Hungary	Peter Forgacs	MTA	member GA		Peter Forgacs
Italy	Antonio Zoccoli	INFN	member GA		Antonio Zoccoli
The Netherlands	Stan Bentvelsen	Nikhef	member GA		Stan Bentvelsen
	Michiel van den Hout	NWO	member GA	non voting	
Poland	Leszek Roszkowski	CAMK	member GA		Leszek Roszkowski
Portugal	Mario Pimenta	LIP	member GA		Mario Pimenta
Romania	Nicolae Marius Marginean	IFIN-HH	member GA		Nicolae Marius Marginear
Russia	Victor Matveev	JINR	member GA		Victor Matveev
Spain	Maria Garcia Borge	IFAE	member GA		
	Antonio Bueno	Univ. Grenada	member GA		
Sweden	Lars Bergstrom	VR	member GA		Lars Bergstrom
Switzerland	Xin Wu		member GA		Xin Wu
	Thomas Werder	SNSF	member GA	non voting	
UK	Jenny Hiscock	STFC	member GA	non voting	
	Grahame Blair	STFC	member GA	_	Grahame Blair
General Secretary	Job de Kleuver	NWO	General Secretary	non voting	