

Second Caribbean Symposium on Cosmology, Gravitation, Nuclear and Astroparticle Physics, 4 – 6 May 2013, Havana, Cuba

Third International Symposium on Strong Electromagnetic Fields and Neutron Stars, 7 – 10 May 2013, Varadero, Cuba

http://indico.cern.ch/event/stars2013

4TH CIRCULAR

This circular contains important and updated information on STARS2013 and SMFNS2013.

Havana, 4 March 2013

Dear Colleague,

As the deadline for the registration in the events STARS2013 and SMFNS2013 is approaching, the organizing committee would like to strongly advise all interested professionals to complete the registration process using the Registration form available in the event's official web page, also containing an updated registrants list, details about the fee payment, accommodation, transportation, etc.

We also encourage registered participants to submit their abstracts as soon as possible. The abstract submission is managed by the INDICO system. Please fill in the online submission form at the website of the events. In order to submit the title and short abstract of your contribution, you need an INDICO account at CERN. If you do not have one, you can easily create a CERN External Account following the simple steps described at the conference website. If you have any problem when submitting your contribution, please contact us via the e-mail 2013stars@gmail.com.

We would like to reiterate that COPA Airlines, the official airline of STARS2013 and SMFNS2013, offers to all participants a special rate, available at the time of booking, for all destinations in countries from South, Central and North America as well as from the Caribbean region. In order to get the discount, participants must present a copy of the invitation letter sent by the Organizing Committee, together with the Copa Airlines voucher. The discount corresponds to 10% of the original airfare. For further details about the reservation numbers and agencies, please see the list of Copa offices.

Please remember that most of our expenses are financed with the fees of the events and its payment would help us to fulfill them. A single fee of 330 euros is being charged for both events. No facilities for payment by credit card are available at the registration desk. The conference fee must be paid in cash at the registration desk or, preferably, by international money transfer (free of bank charges for the recipient) to the following account:

Account Holder: OCE. Ministerio Ciencia Tecnología y Medio Ambiente: Soc. Cubana de Física

Account Number: 0525820023270025

Bank: Banco Metropolitano S.A. **SWIFT Code/BIC:** BMNBCUHH

Address: Galiano 452 esq. a San José, CP 10200, La Habana, Cuba.

Payment details: STARS2013 participant name (Please ask the bank to indicate your name in the

payment details of the transfer form so that we can easily track your payment.)

The conference accommodation (including Airport/Hotel/Airport and Havana/Varadero/Havana transfers) is organized by Gaviota Tours S.A., the official travel agency of the events. Please contact Ms. Zahily Delgado González via the email comercial1.te@gaviotatours.cu to make your own hotel reservation. You will find detailed information about the accommodation package options and hotel prices at the conference website. STARS2013 will be held in the TRYP Habana Libre Hotel, one of the most emblematic hotels in Havana. The hotel is located in Havana downtown, right on the corner of 23rd and L, in the Vedado district. SMFNS2013 will be held in the Allegro Varadero Hotel, which is located in the kilometer 11 of Varadero beach at the Hicacos Peninsula, in Matanzas.

If you have any question, please do not hesitate to contact us via the e-mail 2013stars@gmail.com.

Looking forward to welcoming you in Havana and Varadero,

Best regards,

Ricardo González Felipe and Aurora Pérez Martínez

On behalf of the STARS2013/SMFNS2013 Organizing Committee.

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Ricardo González Felipe (Chair) ● Aurora Pérez Martínez (Vice-Chair) ● Christian Motch ● Dimiter Hadjimichef ● German Lugones ● Luciano Rezzolla ● Roberto A. Sussman ● Rodrigo Picanço Negreiros ● Thomas Boller

INTERNATIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Carola Dobrigkeit • César Zen Vasconcellos • Constança Providência • David Blaschke • Dany Page • Débora Perez Menezes • Donald B. Melrose • Félix Mirabel • Fridolin Weber • Horst Stoecker • Hugo Pérez Rojas • Ignatios Antoniadis • Jörg Aichelin • Jorge Horvath • José A. de Freitas Pacheco • Manuel Malheiro • Peter Hess • Renxin Xu • Walter Greiner • Wolfgang Bauer