2018 Symposium of the Center for Network and Storage Enabled Collaborative Computational Science

North Quad room 2435 (University of Michigan)

North Quad room 2435

University of Michigan

105 S. State St. Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1285
Dan Meisler (University of Michigan), Shawn Mc Kee (University of Michigan (US))

The Center for Network and Storage Enabled Collaborative Computation is hosting its second Symposium on October 15 and 16, 2018, exploring the themes the Center was founded on. The Center seeks to address the challenges of extracting scientific results collaboratively from large, distributed or diverse data.

Venue: North Quad room 2435, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Google map of venue and social dinner

The Challenge: Many scientific disciplines are rapidly increasing the size, variety and complexity of data they must work with. As the data grows, scientists are challenged to manage, share and analyze that data and become diverted from a focus on their scientific research to data-access and data-management concerns. Even more problematic is determining how to support many scientists sharing and accessing this ever increasing amount of data.

The Center is working to respond to those challenges broadly. Included in the Center is the NSF-funded OSiRIS project, a collaborative, multi-university venture led by MICDE faculty, and hosted by ARC-TS.

The following questions illustrate some of the focus areas the Center is seeking to address:

  • What are the best practices for collaboratively working on large, potentially diverse or distributed, datasets?
  • What tools, technologies and techniques are most effective at addressing the challenges faced by such researchers?
  • How should data best be stored, organized, indexed and made accessible to improve the ability of scientists to jointly work with one another, especially across the dimensions of time and space?

This symposium is intended to bring together those interested in these questions to share experiences and best practices, and to discuss both challenges and possible solutions that enable scientists to work together on “big, distributed or diverse data”.

Speakers will come from a wide range of research domains, as well as federal funding agencies.   Please contact the local organizing committee if you have suggestions for speakers!

Confirmed speakers:

  • Stefan Robila, Program Director, Office of Advanced Cyberinfrastructure, Research Core Program, National Science Foundation
  • Saul Youssef, Research Associate Professor, Boston University Department of Physics.
  • Ilkay Altintas, Director, Center of Excellence in Workflows for Data Science, San Diego Supercomputer Center, University of California, San Diego
  • Allison Steiner, Professor, Department of Climate and Space Science and Engineering, University of Michigan
  • Chris Miller, Associate Professor of Astronomy and Physics, University of Michigan
  • Jesse Capecelatro, Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering, University of Michigan
  • Alberto Figueroa, Professor, Biomedical Engineering, University of Michigan
  • Ivo Dinov, Professor, Computational Medicine and Bioinformatics, School of Nursing; Associate Director, Education and Training of the Michigan Institute for Data Science (MIDAS), University of Michigan
  • Shawn McKee, Research Scientist, Department of Physics, U-M; Director, Center for Network and Storage Enabled Collaborative Computational Science (CNSECCS)

We are looking forward to a rich program of presentations and discussions and hope you are able to participate. 

We would like to gratefully acknowledge MICDE (https://micde.umich.edu/) and UMOR (http://www.research.umich.edu/research-um/office-research) whose support helped make this Symposium possible.

  • Alauddin Ahmed
  • Allison Steiner
  • Amaresh Joshi
  • Andy Palms
  • Aragorn Steiger
  • August Evrard
  • Benjeman Meekhof
  • Bradley Dice
  • Brock Palen
  • C. Alberto Figueroa
  • Charlene Tao
  • Christopher Miller
  • Dave Daniszewski
  • DR E Spindler
  • Dwight Saunders
  • Eric Michielssen
  • Erin Kaleba
  • Eulyeon Ko
  • Everardo Olide
  • Gabriele Carcassi
  • Gage Glupker
  • George Alter
  • Glenn Tarcea
  • Gregory Teichert
  • Ilkay Altintas
  • Ivo Dinov
  • Jenni Hartman
  • Jesse Capecelateo
  • Jim Kenyon
  • JP Eldous
  • Jule Krüger
  • Kinnothan Nelson
  • Krishna Garikipati
  • Kwangnam Kim
  • Mariana Carrasco-Teja
  • Masudi seydy
  • Mfuamba fils sebastioen
  • Michael Thompson
  • Pengyuan Xiu
  • Ping Hou
  • Pratik Danu
  • Qiushi Yu
  • Richard Gonzalez
  • Richard Knepper
  • Robert Ball
  • Saul Youssef
  • Scott Witmer
  • Sharon Broude Geva
  • Shawn Mc Kee
  • Sheikh Shuvo
  • Stefan Robila
  • Susan Borda
  • Victor Fuentes
  • Wenjing Wu
  • Zawadi henry