EP Seminar

First Results from MicroBooNE’s Low Energy Excess Search

by David Caratelli (UC Santa Barbara)

500/1-001 - Main Auditorium (CERN)

500/1-001 - Main Auditorium


Show room on map

MicroBooNE is a neutrino experiment that utilizes a liquid argon time projection chamber (LArTPC) located on-axis in the Booster Neutrino Beam (BNB) at Fermilab. One of the experiment’s main goals is to search for excess low-energy electromagnetic-like events as seen by the MiniBooNE experiment, located just downstream of MicroBooNE in the BNB. This talk will present results from MicroBooNE’s first electron-like and photon-like searches. In the photon channel we perform a search for neutrino-induced neutral current resonant ∆(1232) baryon production followed by ∆ radiative decay, a Standard Model background process with a single photon in the final state. In the electron channel, three independent analyses targeting charged current electron neutrino interactions with different final-state topologies are performed. The talk will describe the detector and analysis tools developed to carry out these measurements, and present the analyses’ observations.

The seminar will take place in "hybrid format" with the speaker present in-person in the Main Auditorium (500/1-001). Note that the occupancy is currently limited to 70 people due to hygiene rules. Those, and only those, who plan to attend in person must register.

Organized by

M. Pepe-Altarelli, P. Silva

EP seminar 16 November
Zoom Meeting ID
Angela Ricci
Useful links
Join via phone
Zoom URL
37 / 70
  • Adam Jacholkowski
  • Adam Tomczak
  • Aleksas Mazeliauskas
  • Alexandre Rozanov
  • Andrea Sciandra
  • Biswajit Karmakar
  • Bjorn Burkle
  • Cesar Jesus-Valls
  • Cristovao Fernandes Vilela
  • Danaisis Vargas Oliva
  • Dante Totani
  • David Caratelli
  • Davide Franco
  • Giulio Usai
  • Greg Landsberg
  • Jan Henryk Kalinowski
  • Joachim Kopp
  • Jongkuk Kim
  • Justyna Lagoda
  • Kamil Janusz Skwarczynski
  • Kevin Kelly
  • Lakshmi Sandhya Mohan
  • Marianette Wospakrik
  • Marta Babicz
  • Michelle Ann Solis
  • Monica Pepe-Altarelli
  • Paris Sphicas
  • Pedro Vieira De Castro Ferreira Da Silva
  • Philippa Hazell
  • Pippa Wells
  • Radoslav Marchevski
  • Rafly Aditya Darmawan
  • Saul Alonso Monsalve
  • Sebastian White
  • sophie renner
  • Thorsten Lux
  • Xiao Luo
There is a live webcast for this event