Nov 25 – 27, 2013
Europe/Zurich timezone

Search for tetrahedral states in Yb nuclei with N~90 through Coulomb excitation using HIE-ISOLDE and Miniball

Nov 26, 2013, 4:00 PM
The Globe (CERN)

The Globe



Prof. Costel Petrache (University Paris Sud and CSNSM, CNRS/IN2P3, Orsay, France)


The 160Yb nucleus (Z=70 and N=90) is double-magic with respect to the predicted Tetrahedral symmetry. Even if already studied in heavy-ion induced reactions, neutron spallation and β+-decay, the non-yrast low-spin states and their properties are not well known. In particular it is not clear if a 3- state exists in 160Yb, which could belong to the tetrahedral band. We propose to study the properties of the low-spin states in the radioactive nucleus 160Yb by Coulomb excitation using the HIE-ISOLDE facility and the Miniball array. We we also like to study for the first time through Coulomb excitation the 162,164,166,Yb isotopes.The information acquired from the experiment will give important insights into the X(5) symmetry predicted for the N~90 nuclei, into the CBS (confined β-soft) rotor model which describes the transition between X(5) and the rigid rotor limit, and the existence of mixed symmetry states.These different phenomena and their manifestation in the Yb nuclei will be discussed.

Primary author

Prof. Costel Petrache (University Paris Sud and CSNSM, CNRS/IN2P3, Orsay, France)


Dr Alain Astier (CSNSM, CNRS/IN2P3, Orsay, France) Prof. Daryl Hartley (United States Navan Academy, Anapolis, Maryland, USA) Dr Dennis Bonatsos (University of Nuclear Physiscs, N.C.S.R. Democritos, Athens, Greece) Dr Dominique Curien (IPHC, CNRS/IN2P3, Strasbourg, France) Prof. Jerzy Dudek (IPHC, CNRS/IN2P3, Strasbourg, France) Dr Loic Sengele (IPHC, CNRS/IN2P3, Strasbourg, France) Prof. Norbert Pietralla (Institut für Kernphysik, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Darmstadt, Germany) Prof. Peter Reiter (Institut für Kernphysik, Universität zu Köln, Köln, Germany) Dr Romain Leguillon (CSNSM, CNRS/IN2P3, Orsay, France) Dr Theodoros Konstantinopoulos (CSNSM, CNRS/IN2P3, Orsay, France) Mrs Thileli Zerrouki (CSNSM, CNRS/IN2P3, Orsay, France) Dr Tumpa Bhattacharjee (Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre, Kolkata, India)

Presentation materials