Nov 25 – 27, 2013
Europe/Zurich timezone

CRIS471: Combining laser and decay spectroscopy to study neutron-deficient francium

Nov 25, 2013, 6:10 PM
1h 20m
The Globe (CERN)

The Globe



Kara Marie Lynch (KU Leuven (BE))


The Collinear Resonance Ionization Spectroscopy (CRIS) experiment at ISOLDE uses laser radiation to stepwise excite and ionize an atomic beam for the purpose of ultra-sensitive detection of rare isotopes, and hyperfine structure measurements. The resonance ionization technique offers the ability to purify an ion beam that is heavily contaminated with radioactive isobars (including the ground state of an isotope from its isomer) allowing decay spectroscopy to be performed. Laser assisted nuclear decay spectroscopy is a novel technique developed at CRIS to selectively ionize nuclear ground or isomeric states present in the ISOLDE beam for radioactive-decay measurements on pure states. The isomeric ion beam is selected using a resonance of its hyperfine structure, where it is deflected to a decay spectroscopy station (DSS). This consists of a rotating wheel implantation system for alpha-decay spectroscopy, and up to three germanium detectors around the carbon-foil implantation site for gamma-ray detection. The ability of CRIS to alpha-tag the hyperfine components of overlapping structures allows the hyperfine structure of two (or more) states to be separated. Last year, collinear resonance ionization spectroscopy and laser assisted nuclear decay spectroscopy were performed on the neutron-deficient francium isotopes 202-207Fr. This allowed the identification of the hyperfine components of the low-lying states of 202Fr and 204Fr with alpha-spectroscopy. Here, we present the hyperfine-structure and radioactive-decay studies from the IS471 experiment campaign, alongside a brief overview of the CRIS beam line and the DSS.

Primary author

Kara Marie Lynch (KU Leuven (BE))


Bruce Marsh (CERN) Prof. Gerda Neyens (K.U. Leuven) Hanne Heylen (KU Leuven) Prof. Hinko Henry Stroke (New York University (US)) Ilya Strashnov (University of Manchester (GB)) Ivan Budincevic (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (BE)) Jonathan Billowes (University of Manchester (GB)) Kieran Flanagan (University of Manchester (GB)) Klaus Wendt (J) Mark Bissell (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (BE)) Ralf Erik Rossel (Fachhochschule Wiesbaden (DE)) Ronald Fernando Garcia Ruiz (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (BE)) Ruben Pieter De Groote (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (BE)) Sebastian Rothe (CERN) Serge Franchoo (Universite de Paris-Sud 11 (FR)) Thomas Elias Cocolios (University of Manchester (GB)) Dr Valentine Fedosseev (CERN)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.