FIM4R: Federated identity management for Research Collaborations




Federated identity management (FIM) in general and federated identity management for research communities (FIM4R) is an arrangement that can be made among multiple organisations that lets subscribers use the same identification data to obtain access to the secured resources of all organisations in the group. Specifically in the various research communities there is an increased interest in a common approach to FIM as there is obviously a large potential for synergies. This workshop in the seventh in a series that started in summer 2011 to investigate Federated Identity Management for Research (FIM4R) collaborations.
The first workshop was held at CERN in June 2011 (,
the second at RAL in November 2011 (,
the third at ISGC in February 2012 (,
the fourth at MPI Psycholinguistics Nijmegen in June 2012  (,
the fifth at PSI Villigen in March 2013 (
and the sixth at CSC in Helsinki in October 2013(

Through these workshops, the research communities have converged on a common vision for FIM, enumerated a set of requirements and proposed a number of recommendations for ensuring a roadmap for the uptake of FIM is achieved. These points have been documented in a paper (

The objective of this workshop is to review the status of the on-going research community pilot FIM projects and determine how we work with the service providers in order to establish a production system for research communities. The relationship with the recently formed RDA Interest group will be reviewed.

ESA have prepared a report of the meeting.

Hotel reservation form
  • Anders Lördal
  • Andrea Baldi
  • Andrea Manieri
  • Bob Jones
  • Christof Pohl
  • Ciro Formisano
  • Daniela Pöhn
  • Daniele Bailo
  • Daniele Marchionni
  • David Kelsey
  • Dean Flanders
  • Edith Dumitru
  • Enrico Maria Vincenzo Fasanelli
  • Erwin Goor
  • Fabrice Brito
  • Jean-François Perrin
  • Lukas Hämmerle
  • Marco Leonardi
  • Marcus Hardt
  • Maryline Lengert
  • Massimo Cocco
  • Mikael Linden
  • Peter Gietz
  • Romain Wartel
  • Rudolf A. Bolek
  • Salim Ansari
  • Silvia Arezzini
  • Simon Stannard
  • Simone Gianfranceschi
  • Sven Bingert
  • Tommi Nyrönen
  • Wolfgang Lengert