ASP2018 Forum

Auditorium 1, Namibia University of Science and Technology (Brahms Street)

Auditorium 1, Namibia University of Science and Technology

Brahms Street

Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST), Windhoek Namibia. The dinner will be at the University of Namibia, 340 Mandume Ndemufayo Avenue (Old Hostel)
Anicia Peters (Namibia University of Science and Technology, Namibia)


The ASP Forum consists of presentations, talks, discussions and debate in one day during ASP. Local and international policy makers in matters of education and research, lecturers, ASP conference participants, students, teachers, industries, research and education institutes, and the media participate in this event. The objective is to discuss and adapt the role of the ASP program to better align with the research and education priorities of African countries.

The School Dinner will take place at 19:00 at the University of Namibia, 340 Mandume Ndemufayo Avenue (Old Hostel) Windhoek, Namibia.

Videoconference Rooms
To discuss ASP
Ketevi Adikle Assamagan
Auto-join URL
Useful links
Phone numbers
    • 14:00 14:05
      National and AU anthems 5m
    • 14:07 14:17
      Welcome Address 10m
      Speaker: Dr Tjama Tjivikua (Vice-Chancellor, Namibia University of Science and Technology (Namibia))
    • 14:19 14:34
      The African School of Fundamental Physics and Applications 15m
      Speaker: Dr Ketevi Adikle Assamagan (Brookhaven National Laboratory (US))
    • 14:36 14:46
      ASP Mentorship Program 10m
      Speaker: Mrs Palesa Ramohlouoane (Head Start (US))
    • 14:48 14:58
      ASP2018 Student Feedback 10m
      Speaker: Indongo Sakaria (NUST (Namibia))
    • 15:00 15:15
      Preparation toward ASP2020 in Morocco 15m
      Speakers: Prof. Abdellatif Miraoui (Présidence Université Cadi Ayyad, Marrakech (Morocco)), Dr Mohamed Chabab (Cadi Ayyad University (Morocco))
    • 15:17 15:32
      Namibian Strategy on Capacity Development 15m
      Speaker: Dr Norton Titus (Chairperson of the Board of Commissioners - NCRST (Namibia))
    • 15:34 15:49
      Guest of Honor Address 15m
      Speaker: Honourable Katrina Hanse-Himarwa (Minister of Education, Arts and Culture (Namibia))
    • 15:51 15:56
      Vote of Thanks 5m
      Speaker: Dr Eli Kasai (University of Namibia)
    • 15:59 16:04
      AU and National Anthems 5m
    • 16:04 16:24
      BREAK 20m
    • 16:24 16:39
      The South Africa - CERN Program 15m
      Speaker: Dr Zeblon Vilakazi (University of the Witwatersrand Johannesburg (SA))
    • 16:41 16:56
      African Initiatives with the ICTP 15m
      Speaker: Prof. Bobby Samir Acharya (Abdus Salam Int. Cent. Theor. Phys. (IT))
    • 16:58 17:13
      African Initiatives with BNL 15m
      Speaker: Dr Hammons Lee (Brookhaven National Laboratory (US))
    • 17:15 17:30
      African Initiatives with CNRS-IN2P3 15m
      Speaker: Dr Steve Guy Muanza (CPPM, Aix-Marseille Université, CNRS/IN2P3 (FR))
    • 17:32 17:47
      Large scale projects, e.g. SKA 15m
      Speaker: Dr Rob Adam (FRSSAf (Managing Director: South African Radio Astronomy Observatory (SA)))
    • 17:49 18:04
      Beyond Capacity Development 15m
      Speakers: Dr Govender Kevin (Director: Global Office of Astronomy for Development), Dr Michael Backes (University of Namibia)
    • 18:04 18:34
      Discussion 30m
    • 18:35 19:00
      Shuttles from NUST to UNAM for the Dinner 25m
    • 19:00 19:15
      Note of Encouragement 15m
      Speaker: Dr Jana Hybaskova (Head: EU Delegation to Namibia)
    • 19:15 20:00
      ASP Dinner and Keynote Address 45m
      Speaker: Dr Alfred Van Ken (Permanent Secretary: Ministry of Higher Education, Training and Innovation (Namibia))
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now