12th MCnet Summer School

Salone Grollo (Monash University Prato Centre)

Salone Grollo

Monash University Prato Centre

Via Pugliesi, 26, 59100 Prato PO, Italy
Peter Skands (Monash University (AU))

The 2018 MCnet Summer School on Monte Carlo Event Generators for the Large Hadron Collider will be held at Monash University's Prato campus, located in the Vai Palace in the historical centre of Prato, Italy (about 20 mins from Florence), with arrival on Sunday July 22nd and departure on Friday (afternoon) July 27th 2018. Convenient airports include Florence, Pisa, and Bologna; see Travel Information for more info and use the Registration link to apply for the school.

The school provides a five day course of training in the physics and techniques used in modern Monte Carlo event generators via a series of lectures, practical sessions, and discussions with event-generator authors. The school is aimed at advanced doctoral students and young postdocs.

Our core sessions comprise a series of introductory lectures on the physics of event generators, further lectures on a wider range of associated topics, a series of hands-on tutorials using all of the MCnet event generators for LHC physics, and evening discussion sessions with Monte Carlo authors. The full list of lectures is:

  • Introduction to Event Generators - Simon Plätzer (Vienna U)
  • Measurements and Monte Carlo - Andrea Knue (Freiburg U)
  • From Lagrangians to Events - Benjamin Fuks (Paris, LPTHE)
  • Matching and Merging - Keith Hamilton (UCL)
  • Showers and Resummation - Mike Seymour (U of Manchester)
  • Heavy-Ion Modeling - Leif Lönnblad (Lund U)
  • Industrial Applications - Frederic Stichelbaut (IBA)

Organised by:



  • Abhaya Kumar Swain
  • Akanksha Bhardwaj
  • Alan Price
  • Albi Kerbizi
  • Alexander Pedersen Lind
  • Andrea Helen Knue
  • Andrew Wisecarver
  • Andy Buckley
  • Angelika Widl
  • Ann Durie
  • Arif Bayirli
  • Armando Bermudez Martinez
  • Baptiste Cabouat
  • Benjamin Audurier
  • Benjamin Fuks
  • Bianca Ciungu
  • Christian Bierlich
  • Christian Preuss
  • Christine Rasmussen
  • Cody Duncan
  • Daniel Reichelt
  • Danping Huang
  • Davide Napoletano
  • Dwayne Spiteri
  • Elham E Khoda
  • Emma Simpson Dore
  • Enrico Bothmann
  • Francesco La Ruffa
  • Freja Thoresen
  • Frédéric Stichelbaut
  • Gurpreet Singh Chahal
  • Harsh Shah
  • Helen Brooks
  • Hyon San Seo
  • Johannes Bellm
  • Jose Llanes Jurado
  • Katharina Garner
  • Keith Hamilton
  • Leif Gellersen
  • Leif Lönnblad
  • Luca Mantani
  • Maria Florencia Daneri
  • Marian Heil
  • Marius Utheim
  • Marvin Flores
  • Matteo Scornajenghi
  • Michal Sefcik
  • Mike Seymour
  • Miqueias Melo de Almeida
  • Olivier Mattelaer
  • Pablo Martín
  • Patrick Kirchgaesser
  • Peter Skands
  • Ranjit Nayak
  • Robin Linten
  • Semen Turchikhin
  • Si Hyun Jeon
  • Simon Lemcke
  • Simon Plätzer
  • Smita Chakraborty
  • Sujay Shil
  • Syed Haider Abidi
  • Vincent Wai Sum Wong