Mechanical Materials Engineering for Particle Accelerators and Detectors, 25 May - 7 June 2020, Sint-Michielsgestel, Holland

Hotel De Ruwenberg (Holland)

Hotel De Ruwenberg


Ruwenbergstraat 7 5271 AG Sint-Michielsgestel +31 73 55 888 88
Hermann Schmickler (CERN)

In collaboration with NIKHEF (National Institute for subatomic physics in the Netherlands) the CERN Accelerator school is organizing a topical course on:

Mechanical Engineering for Accelerators

For the first time in the history of the CERN Accelerator School, a course on Mechanical engineering is organized. The focus of the course will be to orient mechanical engineers from their general knowledge obtained during their past education to techniques and solutions, which are specific for accelerator applications. In the mornings, a complete lecture program is foreseen covering a wide range of mechanical engineering aspects. These lectures are complemented by a series of application reports in the field of accelerators. In the afternoons four blocks of so-called “hands-ON” experiments are foreseen, during which the students will be guided to do practical work including visits of professional companies close by. Since a student without prior knowledge of mechanical engineering will not be able to follow the course, we have prepared a self-evaluation test on our website. We kindly ask every interested student to exercise this test and apply only for the course, if a sufficient high score is obtained in the test.

Registration for "CERN PARTICIPANTS ONLY" validated by BE TE EN department heads
Registration for Funding Grant Requests (All students applying for a grant AND as normal student will be removed from the grant application)
Registration for LECTURERS
Registration for PARTICIPANTS
  • Adrian Morales Casas
  • Alberto Monetti
  • Andrea Bignami
  • Ashraf Zaman
  • Augusto Sciuccati
  • Dana Kary
  • David Smith
  • Dominik Nowak
  • Giovanni Garofalo
  • Guntis Pikurs
  • Hugo Reymond
  • Ioannis papazoglou
  • Jan Hansen
  • Libin Li
  • Lisa Centofante
  • Marcus Portelli
  • Martin Lantschner
  • Nora Wunderer
  • Pawel Ziolkowski
  • Przemyslaw Wachal
  • Rafal Ortwein
  • Toms Torims
The agenda of this meeting is empty