Saturation and Diffraction at the LHC and the EIC




The workshop is postponed to June 28-July 2 2021 due to the corona virus situation.


The general scientific goal of this workshop is related to QCD at high gluon densities and diffraction at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC), the future Electron Ion Collider (EIC) to be built in the US at BNL, as well as proposed facilities dedicated to the study of the proton structure in deep-inelastic scattering at CERN, the Large Hadron-electron Collider (LHeC) and the Future Circular Collider in electron-hadron mode (FCC-eh). Concretely, this event aims to stimulate discussions between experimentalists and theorists in forward hadronic physics, QCD dynamics at low-x, diffractive processes, and  parton saturation effects in light- and heavy-nuclei.

The event will take place in the ECT* institute in Trento, Italy from July 6 2020 through July 10 2020 ( ) . All sessions will consist of plenary talks.

The topics discussed during the workshop are:

  • Low-x, parton saturation in light- and heavy-nuclei.
  • Photon-exchange, pomeron exchange, and hard diffraction.
  • Total cross section and soft diffraction.
  • Spin, generalized parton distribution functions, and transverse momentum dependent PDFs.
  • Cosmic ray physics.
  • Future experiments and instrumentation.

This is a workshop of the Networking activity NA2-Small-x: Physics at the LHC and future DIS experiments of STRONG-2020 “The strong interaction at the frontier of knowledge: fundamental research and applications” (, an Integrating and Opening Research Infrastructures of European Interest action which has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 824093. The event is also financially supported by the ECT* institute hosting the meeting ( ) .





Registration form
  • Abhay Deshpande
  • Alexander Kovner
  • Anna Stasto
  • Christophe Royon
  • Cristian Baldenegro Barrera
  • Cyrille Marquet
  • Dimitri Colferai
  • Edmond Iancu
  • elke-caroline Aschenauer
  • Federico Deganutti
  • Giovanni Antonio Chirilli
  • Guillaume Beuf
  • Heikki Mäntysaari
  • Jamal Jalilian-Marian
  • Krzysztof Kutak
  • Martin Hentschinski
  • Michael Lublinsky
  • Michael Pitt
  • Nestor Armesto Perez
  • Raju Venugopalan
  • Ronan Mcnulty
  • Soeren Schlichting
  • Tolga Altinoluk
  • Tommaso Isidori
  • Tuomas Lappi
  • Yoshitaka Hatta
The agenda of this meeting is empty