Indico has been updated to v3.3. See our blog post for details on this release. (OTG0146394)

May 15 – 25, 2023
Kathmandu University
Europe/Zurich timezone

Main Website: ( Please check here for information regarding travel, accommodation, and other logistics. )

Contact Email:

About: BCVSPIN-2023 is the continuation of the BCVSPIN (Bangladesh, China, Vietnam, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, India, Nepal) program initiated in 1989 by Professors Abdus Salam, Jogesh Pati, Yu Lu, and Qaisar Shafi with a goal to provide a platform for scientists in the South/Southeast Asia region to learn about developments in particle/astroparticle physics and cosmology from leading experts. Previous editions took place in Nepal (1989, 1990, 1994-97), India (1992), China (2007, 2009, 2013), Vietnam (2011), and Mexico (2014). The most recent edition BCVSPIN-2021 was organised in virtual format in January 2022 (indico page). The next edition will be held as an in-person school in Kathmandu, Nepal: 

Dates: May 15-25, 2023

Venue: Kathmandu Unviersity, Kathmandu, Nepal 

(hosted jointly by Tribhuvan University and Kathmandu University)


The aim of the school is to provide a broad introductory coverage of key topics in contemporary research to young researchers in the South Asia region (primarily Masters and early PhD students). The event is planned as a fully in-person event, with lecturers staying for one week and students expected to stay for the entire duration. In order to prepare the students for the main lectures, we also plan to organize an optional online preparatory school the week before BCVSPIN-2023, where the organizers will cover the basics of particle physics and cosmology.

Lecturers (Topics):

Mu-Chun Chen, University of California, Irvine (Flavor Physics)

Niraj Dhital, Tribhuvan University (Particle Astrophysics)

Shih-Chieh Hsu, University of Washington (Physics at the Large Hadron Collider) 

Joachim Kopp, Mainz/CERN (Neutrino Physics)

Ranjan Laha, IISc. Bangalore (Dark Matter Detection)

Nobuchika Okada, Alabama (Early Universe Cosmology)

Michael Ratz, University of California, Irvine (Fundamentals of Quantum Field Theory)

Nausheen Shah, Wayne State University (Higgs and New Physics)

Bibhushan Shakya, DESY (Gravitational Waves)

Tracy Slatyer, MIT (Dark Matter Theory)

Michael Spannowsky, IPPP Durham (Computational Tools for Particle Physics)

Avelino Vicente, Valencia (Numerical Tools for Particle Physics and Cosmology)

Keynote Speaker (Remote): Takaaki Kajita, U. TOkyo, ICRR, 2015 Nobel Laureate (Keynote, Online)


Organizing Committee:

Bibhushan Shakya, DESY (Chair)

Mu-Chun Chen, University of California Irvine 

Talal Ahmed Chowdhury, University of Dhaka 

Anish Ghoshal, University of Warsaw

P.Q. Hung, University of Virginia

Nobuchika Okada, University of Alabama 

Digesh Raut, Washington College

Qaisar Shafi, University of Delaware

Nausheen Shah, Wayne State University

Suyog Shrestha, Washington College

Anil Thapa, University of Virginia

Local Organizing Committee:

Rajendra Adhikari, Kathmandu University 

Niraj Dhital, Tribhuvan University

Dipendra Hamal, Kathmandu University 

Ujjwal Man Joshi, Kathmandu University 

Raju Khanal, Tribhuvan University

Om Prakash Niraula, Tribhuvan University 

Deepak Prasad Subedi, Kathmandu University


BCVSPIN-2023 has been made possible thanks to generous support from:

  • Bartol Research Institute, University of Delaware
  • US ATLAS Collaboration
  • International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP)
  • ICTP Physics Without Frontiers (PWF)
  • International Particle Physics Outreach Group (IPPOG)
  • Wayne State University


Kathmandu University