Dec 5 – 7, 2011
Europe/Zurich timezone

Beta-decay studies of neutron-rich Mn isotopes

Dec 5, 2011, 2:25 PM
503/1-001 - Council Chamber (CERN)

503/1-001 - Council Chamber


Show room on map


Dieter Pauwels (Belgian Nuclear Research Center (BE))


The neutron-rich Mn-decay studies are of particular interest due to the recently observed rapid onset of deformation just below the 'semi-magic' 68Ni (Z=28,N=40), in the Co, Fe and Cr isotopes. Large-scale shell-model calculations are on the verge of explaining quantitatively the observed nuclear structure, but the experimental benchmarks in this region are still limited. The beta-decay study of neutron-rich manganese isotopes around N=40 presents a wealth of new and systematic nuclear-structure information in the iron, cobalt, and even the nickel isotopes for critical assessments of the state-of-the-art effective interactions. In October 2009, Mn-decay data were successfully acquired for the masses A=58,60-68, which were produced in a proton-induced fission of 238U and selected using RILIS and mass separation in HRS. The Mn ions were implanted on a moveable tape system surrounded by three thin plastic Delta-E beta detectors and two MINIBALL clusters for gamma detection. The detector signals were processed by digital electronics. Thanks to the selectivity of the laser ionization and the combination with previous work at the Leuven Isotope Separator On-Line setup on Fe and Co decay, beta-decay feeding patterns and spin assignments could be obtained. We will present results for the decay chains of 63,65,66,67,68Mn. New spin assignments are made changing the interpretation of previous data and, for the A=66 mass chain, comparisons with shell-model calculations will be presented.

Primary author

Dieter Pauwels (Belgian Nuclear Research Center (BE))


Bruce Marsh (CERN) Deyan Radulov (Instituut voor Kern- en Stralingsfysica) Dmitri Fedorov (Petersburg Nuclear Physics Institute (PNPI)) Dr Hilde De Witte (Instituut voor Kern- en Stralingsfysica) Dr Iain Darby (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven) Mr Jan Diriken (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven) Dr Jarno Van de Walle (ISOLDE, CERN) Kathrin Wimmer (Abteilung Physik-Technische Universitaet Muenchen-Unknown) Lucia Popescu (Belgian Nuclear Research Center (BE)) Dr Luis Mario Fraile Prieto (Facultad de Ciencias Fisicas-Universidad Complutense) Marica Anna Sjoedin (Royal Institute of Technology (KTH)) Mark L Huyse (Instituut voor Kern- en Stralingsfysica) Dr Martin Venhart (Institute of Physics, Slovak Academy of Science, Slovakia) Dr Maxim Seliverstov (Institut fuer Physik, Johannes Gutenberg Universitaet, Mainz) Paul Van den Bergh (Instituut voor Kern- en Stralingsfysica) Prof. Piet Van Duppen (Inst. voor Kern- en Stralingsfysica-Katholieke Universiteit Leu) Ulli Koester (Institut Max von Laue-Paul Langevin (ILL)) Valentine Fedosseev (CERN) Dr William Walters (University of Maryland)

Presentation materials