Oct 22 – 24, 2007
The Cosener's House, Abingdon, Oxfordshire. UK
Europe/Zurich timezone
Aims: Muon storage rings have been proposed for use as a source of high-energy neutrino beams (the Neutrino Factory) and as the basis for a high-energy lepton-anti-lepton collider (the Muon Collider). The Neutrino Factory is widely believed to be the machine of choice for the search for leptonic-CP violation while the Muon Collider may prove to be the most practical route to multi-TeV lepton-anti-lepton collisions. Though conceived to serve quite distinct programmes, the accelerator facilities required have many features in common. Compelling synergies exist between the R&D programmes that are required to make either the Neutrino Factory or the Muon Collider a realistic future option for the field. The aims of the meeting, are therefore: • To summarise the physics of neutrinos and the implications of recent observations for particle physics, astrophysics, and cosmology; • To summarise the physics opportunities of lepton-anti-lepton collisions at the high-energy frontier, seeking to expose synergies between the high-flux neutrino programme and the energy-frontier programme; •To review the physics potential of the Neutrino Factory and the Muon Collider and the detector technologies that are required; •To discuss in detail the Neutrino Factory and Muon Collider accelerator R&D programmes that are presently being carried out; and •To assess the strength of the synergies between the future Neutrino Factory and Muon Collider R&D programmes and the opportunities for collaboration that such synergies present. There will be a Welcome drinks reception held at The Cosener's House on Sunday evening from 6.30 pm - 7.30 pm. The following people have registered for the workshop: Dr Robert Abrams, Dr Joseph Berg, Prof Robert Bingham, Dr Alex Bogacz, Dr Maurizio Bonesini, Mr Stephen Brooks, Prof Alan Bross, Prof Swapan Chattopadhyay, Dr Chris Densham, Prof Peter Dornan, Dr Estia Eichten, Dr Stephen Geer, Mrs Eliana Gianfelice-Wendt, Prof Gail Hanson, Dr Andreas Jansson, Mr Rolland Johnson, Prof Daniel Kaplan, Dr Aijit Karup, Dr David Kelliher, Mr Krishna Prasad Khakurel, Dr Akram Khan, Prof Steve King, Prof Yoshitaka Kuno, Dr Paul Kyberd, Mr Andrew Laing, Dr Michael Lamm, Prof Elliot Leader, Prof Ken Long, Dr Shinji Machida, Prof Norman McCubbin, Dr Malika Meddahi, Dr David Neuffer, Dr Peter Norton, Prof Yasar Onel, Prof Vittorio Palladino, Dr Robert Palmer, Prof Ken Peach, Dr Fabio Peano, Prof Mike Poole, Dr Christopher Prior, Dr Grahame Rees, Dr Chris Rogers, Dr Akira Sato, Prof William Scott, Dr Rebecca Seviour, Dr Ludovico Tortora, Dr Yoshi Uchida, Dr Michael Zisman.
The Cosener's House, Abingdon, Oxfordshire. UK
Tel: +44 (0)1235 523198 Fax: +44 (0)1235 534160
Local Committee: K Long, R Edgecock, R Bingham, N McCubbin, W Scott, M Poole, S King, N Legge - Meeting Secretary, SJ Smart - IT Coordinator. International Advisory Committee Y Kuno (Osaka) Y Mori (Kyoto) S Geer (FNAL) H Kirk (BNL) M Zisman (LBNL) E Eichten (FNAL) A Blondel (GVA) J Ellis (CERN) R Garoby (CERN) V Palladino (Napoli)