12-18 August 2012
US/Eastern timezone

If you have any questions about the details of the program please contact Bolek Wyslouch

The Micro-Vertex-Detector of the CBM-Experiment

16 Aug 2012, 16:00
Regency 1/3 and Ambassador ()

Regency 1/3 and Ambassador

Poster Experiment upgrades, new facilities, and instrumentation Poster Session Reception


Tobias Tischler (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt)


The Compressed Baryonic Matter Experiment (CBM) is one of the core experiments of the future FAIR facility at Darmstadt/Germany. The experiment will explore the phase diagram of hadronic matter in the regime of highest baryon densities. Nuclear fireballs created in heavy ion collisions of 8-45 AGeV beam energy will be studied with numerous probes, among them open charm. Reconstructing those rare probes requires a vacuum compatible micro vertex detector (MVD) with unprecedented properties. Its sensor technology has to feature a spatial resolution of <5μm, a radiation tolerance of >10e13 n/cm² and a time resolution of few 10 μs. The detector station must combine an active cooling of the sensors (~1W/cm²) with a material budget below few 0.1% radiation length. To match those requirements, we rely on the CMOS Monolithic Active Pixel Sensors provided by the IPHC Strasbourg. The highly granular and 50 μm thin sensors will be mounted on a cooling support made from CVD diamond. This support drives the dissipated power to a heat sink outside the detector acceptance. The readout of the sensors will be done by means of ultra-thin flex print cables. We discuss the concept of the CBM MVD and report about the status of our prototyping.

Primary author

Tobias Tischler (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt)


Bernhard Wiedemann (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) Bertram Neumann (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) Borislav Milanovic (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) Christian Müntz (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) Christian Trageser (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) Christoph Schrader (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) Dennis Doering (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) Horst Düring (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) Ingo Fröhlich (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) Jan Michel (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) Joachim Stroth (Goethe-University and GSI) Jonathan Enders (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) Melissa Domachowski (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) Michael Deveaux (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) Michael Wiebusch (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) Michal KOZIEL (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) Norbert Bialas (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) Paul Scharrer (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) Qiyan Li (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) Samir Amar-Youcef (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) Selim Seddiki (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt)

Presentation Materials