The ALICE Glance Membership Management System

Not scheduled


1919-1 Tancha, Onna-son, Kunigami-gun Okinawa, Japan 904-0495
poster presentation Track6: Facilities, Infrastructure, Network


Adriana Telesca (CERN)


ALICE (A Large Ion Collider Experiment) is an experiment at the CERN LHC (Large Hadron Collider) studying the physics of strongly interacting matter and the quark-gluon plasma. The experiment collaboration counts more than 1500 members from 148 institutes in 39 countries. During the experiment start up in 2008 and the following years of data taking the information about members was manually maintaned in a static database called the ALICE Collaboration Database (ACDB). The increased size and complexity of the collaboration in terms of contracts diversity and institutions responsibility in physics and experiment operation made clear the need of using a dynamic and flexible system. In this paper, we introduce the ALICE Glance Membership system, which is the result of a fruitful joint effort between UFRJ (Federal University of Rio de Janeiro) and the ALICE Collaboration at CERN. The Glance tecnology, developed by the UFRJ and the ATLAS experiment, sits at the basis of the system as an intermediate layer isolating the particularities of the databases. The developed Web system manages members data and their employments contracts, activities and appointments in the collaboration. It handles institutes and funding agencies information, agreements and representatives, which is essential to give the right access to ALICE members, create mailing lists, electronic groups and automatic notifications as well as generating the list of publication authors. The ALICE Glance Membership interacts with external software such as the CERN Foundation database and the Greybook. The system supports the decentralization of functions, allowing Institute leaders to directly manage their team and members to access their own information, enabling a dynamic collaboration network through the Web.

Primary authors

Heron Henrique Martins Silva (Univ. Federal do Rio de Janeiro (BR)) Stefan Boettger (Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe Univ. (DE))


Adriana Telesca (CERN) Carmen Maidantchik (Univ. Federal do Rio de Janeiro (BR)) Igor Abreu Da Silva (Univ. Federal do Rio de Janeiro (BR))

Presentation materials