Indico has been updated to v3.3. See our blog post for details on this release. (OTG0146394)

Feb 15 – 19, 2016
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

Development of an Event-driven SOI Pixel Detector for X-ray Astronomy - Improvement of an Intra-chip Readout Circuit for Low Noise Performance -

Not scheduled
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Board: 2
Poster Astroparticle Detectors


Ayaki Takeda (Kyoto University)


We have been developing monolithic active pixel detectors, named “XRPIX” based on the silicon-on-insulator (SOI) pixel technology, for future X-ray astronomy satellite missions. Our objective is to replace X-ray Charge Coupled Devices (CCD), which are now standard detectors in the field. The XRPIX series offers good time resolution (~1 µs), fast readout time (~10 µs), and a wide energy range (0.5–40 keV) in addition to having imaging and spectroscopic capability comparable to CCDs. XRPIX contains a comparator circuit in each pixel for hit trigger (timing) and two-dimensional hit-pattern (position) outputs. Therefore, signals are read out only from selected pixels. In our previous studies, we successfully demonstrated X-ray detection by the event-driven readout. We recently improved the X-ray spectral performance by introducing in-pixel charge-sensitive amplifier circuits and achieved an energy resolution of 320 eV (FWHM) for 5.9 keV X-rays with which Mn-K${\rm \alpha}$ and -K${\rm \beta}$ lines are resolved for the first time in the XRPIX series. We found that most of the readout noise can be attributed not to the sense-node but to the readout circuit. Thus, we designed a new prototype in which we modified the intra-chip readout circuits. In this presentation, we report on the recent development and evaluation results of the new device.

Primary author

Ayaki Takeda (Kyoto University)


Hideaki Matsumura (Kyoto University) Hiroki Kamehama (Shizuoka University) Keiichiro Kagawa (Shizuoka University) Keita Yasutomi (Shizuoka University) Koji Mori (University of Miyazaki) Kouki Tamasawa (Tokyo University of Science) Makoto Itou (Kyoto University) Ryota Takenaka (University of Miyazaki) Shinya Nakashima (Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA)) Shoji Kawahito (Shizuoka University) Shunichi Ohumura (Kyoto University) Sumeet Shrestha (Shizuoka University) Takaaki Tanaka (Kyoto University) Takayoshi Kohmura (Tokyo University of Science) Takeshi Tsuru (Kyoto University) Yasuo Arai (High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (JP)) Yuma Yoshino (Tokyo University of Science) Yusuke Nishioka (University of Miyazaki)

Presentation materials